ONU students, organizations receive leadership, community service awards

Several Ohio Northern University students have been recognized for their leadership on campus. The DeBow Freed Award for Outstanding Student Leadership as an Undergraduate Student is presented annually to one male and one female student from each undergraduate class. The award recognizes recipients for their positive leadership in the campus community.

The first awards were presented in 1999 and are named in honor of the former president and president emeritus of the university, who dedicated his life to the virtue of servant leadership.

First-year awards were presented to Alyson Hoffman, a public relations and communications major from Marion, Ohio; and Zach Wiles, a political science and creative writing major from Brunswick, Ohio.

Second-year awards went to Alissa Sayer, a mechanical engineering major from East Palestine, Ohio; and Christopher Pfaff, a pharmacy major from Genoa, Ohio.

Third-year awards were received by Preston Johanns, a nursing major from Paulding, Ohio; and Anna Eskender, a pharmacy major from Loveland, Ohio.

Fourth-year awards were presented to Zoe Schilling, a pharmacy major from East Sparta, Ohio; and Brian Ruffini, an accounting major from Dennison, Ohio.

Also recognized were the Alice-Kay Hilderbrand Student Organization of the Year Awards, which recognize outstanding leadership of student organizations that made positive contributions to the ONU campus community. The Campus Organizing Committee of ONU’s Student Senate created the awards, which have been presented since 2002. The awards are named after Alice-Kay Hilderbrand, vice president for student affairs from 2004-08, for her passionate and devoted support to student organizations.

This year’s recipients include:

Student Organization of the Year: Habitat for Humanity

Greek Organization of the Year: Phi Mu Delta

Polar Pride: The Northern Review

Outstanding Community Service Award: Delta Zeta

Outstanding Programming Award: National Community Pharmacists Association

Outstanding Event: Student Planning Committee for Drake Bell performance

Law Organization of the Year Award - Law School Veterans Association