Close-up of an Ohio Northern University College of Pharmacy white coat.

ONU faculty, alumni honored at Ohio Pharmacists Association’s ‘22 conference

One Ohio Northern University faculty member and nine alumni received awards at the Ohio Pharmacists Association’s (OPA) 144th Annual Conference.

Karen Kier, R.Ph., M.S., Ph.D., received the Pharmacist Public Relations Award. This award recognizes an OPA member who has made major contributions to the public through continuous service in public relations activities for the pharmacy profession. Kier authors a weekly column, published in multiple regional newspapers, that focuses on everyday health topics such as non-prescription products and the COVID-19 pandemic. She is the director of the Drug and Health Information Center and professor of clinical pharmacy at ONU’s Raabe College of Pharmacy.

Alumni awards:

Stuart Beatty, R.Ph., PharmD ’03, BCACP, FAPhA, received the Beal Award, presented annually to honor a pharmacist who has made continued, outstanding contributions to the advancement of the pharmacy profession. Beatty is an associate professor of clinical pharmacy for The Ohio State University College of Pharmacy, OPA director of strategy and practice transformation, and president of Strategic Pharmacy Initiatives, LLC.

James Tallman, R.Ph., BSPh ’60, is the recipient of the Bowl of Hygeia Award. Sponsored by the National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations and the American Pharmacists Association Foundation, this award honors pharmacists who have contributed to the progress of their communities. Tallman has been a pharmacist for more than 50 years. He formerly owned and operated Troutman Drug Co. in Niles, Ohio.

Darla Gaiser, R.Ph., BSPh ’74, was elected to a second term as OPA trustee representing District 1. She recently retired as director of Firelands Center for Coordinated Care, a multidisciplinary ambulatory care center in Sandusky, Ohio. She also serves on OPA’s Legal and Regulatory and Practice Advancement and Innovation committees.

Hope Hill, R.Ph., PharmD ’09, was installed as an OPA trustee representing District 10. She is a pharmacy practice coordinator for The Kroger Company’s Columbus division. She is also a member of OPA’s Member Services and Development and Practice Advancement and Innovation committees.

R. Logan Yoho, R.Ph., PharmD ’10, BCACP, was installed as OPA president-elect. He is the director of pharmacy at Hopewell Health Centers in Logan, Ohio, and is an Apexus 340B expert helping to protect the 340B program in Ohio as the lead advocate. He was instrumental in helping to shape legislation that helps preserve the ability of 340B pharmacies to continue providing vulnerable Ohioans with affordable, quality medications and services. Yoho also serves on OPA’s Practice Advancement and Innovative and Legal and Regulatory committees.

Aimee O’Reilly, R.Ph., PharmD ’12, took office as OPA president, was honored with a Leadership Award by the National Community Pharmacists Association, and received an OPA Under 40 Award for leadership, excellence and vision in the practice of pharmacy. O’Reilly and her husband opened O’Reilly Family Pharmacy in Worthington, Ohio, where she identifies the solutions that best suit her patients’ needs, including with prescription medication, over-the-counter medication, durable medical equipment, and/or immunizations. She began practice at Hock’s Tipp City Pharmacy and was on the OPA staff where she was integral in the development of the “How to Open a Pharmacy” manual.

Kevin Fuschetto, PharmD ’07, BCACP, BC-ADM, is the recipient of the Under 40 Award in recognition of his leadership, excellence and vision in the practice of pharmacy. He serves as director of clinical services at NEOvations Pharmacy Services, where he coordinates care for patients and manages a team of interns and student pharmacists. He is also assistant professor of pharmacy practice at Northeast Ohio Medical University’s College of Pharmacy.

Lauren Castle, PharmD ’13, MS, is the recipient of an Under 40 Award in recognition of her leadership, excellence and vision in the practice of pharmacy. She is the founder and CEO of the Functional Medicine Pharmacists Alliance. She works to transform the profession by integrating the practice of functional medicine and pharmacy, and empowering pharmacists to create their ideal practice. She also works as a divisional community and influencer platform manager with Brand Network, powering Walmart’s Local Social Media and Spotlight applications.

Rachel Barhorst, PharmD ’07, BCACP, BC-ADM, is the recipient of an Under 40 Award in recognition of her leadership, excellence and vision in the practice of pharmacy. She serves as director of clinical pharmacy and as the residency program director at Family Health Services of Darke County. She started the clinical pharmacy program at this site and expanded its services to provide medication therapy management, adherence packaging, and shared visits for diabetes, COPD, smoking cessation and more. She has implemented collaborative practice agreements with physicians for diabetes and smoking cessation with the goal of continuing to expand into other disease states.

OPA, established in 1879 represents more than 4,000 pharmacists, pharmacy educators and pharmacy students throughout the state.