Ohio Northern Symphony and the ONU Wind Orchestra

Freed Center: Biggs Theatre

Ohio Northern Symphony and the ONU Wind Orchestra

The ONU Symphony presents "Tragedy and Triumph," featuring Brahms' Tragic Overture, Verdi's Triumphal March from Aida, Ken Davies' Strings Ablaze and Forsyth's Viola Concerto in G minor.

The ONU Wind Orchestra pays homage to the ceremonial kindling of light during the holidays and the winter solstice through a beautiful and musically illuminating program titled “Season of Light.” The program features John Philip Sousa’s By the Light of the Polar Star, Gustav Holst’s In the Bleak Mid-Winter, John Mackey’s Aurora Wakes, Gabriel Fauré’s Pie Jesu from Requiem, Eric Whitaker’s Lux Aurumque, Alfred Reed’s classic arrangement of Greensleeves, The Polar Express Concert Suite by Alan Silvestri and Glen Ballard, and Leroy Anderson’s wildly popular holiday classic Sleigh Ride.                                                                     

The Ohio Northern Symphony is a hybrid orchestra comprised of a highly select group of students, faculty and professionals. The symphony performs at least four programs a year, and enrollment is open, by way of audition, to all University students regardless of major.

The ONU Wind Orchestra, under the direction of Dr. Antoine T. Clark, performs collegiate- and professional-level literature for wind ensemble. Membership is by competitive audition held at the beginning of the school year. In May 2017, the group traveled to Europe on a concert tour presenting concerts in Germany and Luxembourg.

$20 – Adults
$10 – Seniors
$5 – Students/Children

Purchase Tickets