2021 Homecoming

Start Date
Friday, October 1, 2021 - 12:00 pm
End Date
Sunday, October 3, 2021 - 12:00 pm
Event Contact Name
Office of Alumni Engagement
Event Contact Phone #
419-772-2727
Event Contact E-mail
alumni@onu.edu
Event Category

2021 ONU Homecoming

OCT. 1-3, 2021 - Register by Sept. 24, 2021 - click here!

Make your plans to attend ONU Homecoming 2021! Register online at alumni.onu.edu/Homecoming2021 or send a check by Sept. 24, 2021, to: The Office of Alumni Relations, Ohio Northern University 525 S. Main St., Ada, Ohio 45810. See below for a detailed list of activities.

The main registration area will be open on Saturday, Oct. 2, in the King-Horn Field House from 8 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. Bracelets for the tailgate, the inflatable activities and the football game are available for purchase or pickup at registration.

 

Friday, Sept. 17

  • Virtual reunions of Religious Life groups | Join current students and alumni of religious life organizations for online reunions via Zoom. If interested contact chapel@onu.edu or Debbie Roehrle, d-roehrle@onu.edu
     

Sept. 27-Oct. 1

  • SPIRIT WEEK, Residence Life/Student Affairs | All ONU students have the opportunity to create a team and compete for prizes during Spirit Week preceding Homecoming weekend.
     

Sept. 30

  • 5:30 - 8:30 p.m. - Class of 1971 and Class of 1970 50-year Reunion banquet
    McIntosh Center –Members of the 1970 and 1971 graduating classes are free and may bring one guest. Additional guests are $20 per person
    Contact: Alumni Engagement, alumni@onu.edu
     

Oct. 1

  • 9 a.m. - Noon - Pettit College of Law PAD CLE: Ethics, Professionalism and Substance Abuse
    Celebrezze Large Moot Courtroom 129, Tilton Hall of Law
    –The PAD CLE is pending approval by the Supreme Court of Ohio for 2.5 hours of Professional Conduct – $50 for Law Alumni and $65 for Non-Law Alumni
    Contact: Deanna Cira, d-cira@onu.edu
  • 9 a.m. - 3 p.m. - Pharmacy Career and Networking Day, employers/alumni
    McIntosh Center –Celebrate 150 years of building students’ skills with the College of Pharmacy and Polar Careers at this career fair with a twist. Enjoy opportunities to engage current P1-P6 students, virtually or in-person; network and share success stories; promote career opportunities; interact with student leaders and organizations; and communicate with faculty. To register for this event, contact Andrea Domachowski, a-domachowski@onu.edu
  • Noon - Law alumni lunch with the dean
    Taggart Law Library-Hanson Reading Room, Lunch with the Dean.
    Contact: Deanna Cira, d-cira@onu.edu
  • 3 - 4:30 p.m. - Pharmacy employer/alumni reception
    Raabe College of Pharmacy –Join the College of Pharmacy faculty and administrators, along with current student leaders and organizations for an afternoon reception. Tour the College, receive updates from the Dean and connect with colleagues-old and new! To RSVP, contact Andrea Domachowski, a-domachowski@onu.edu
  • 5 p.m. - Alumni esports tour
    Taft Esports Room –Beverages/snacks and a walkthrough of the esports rooms. Meet some of the players and coaches. Contact: Troy Chiefari, t-chiefari@onu.edu
  • 6 p.m. - Athletic Hall of Fame banquet (Invitation only)
    ONU Sports Center, King Horn 2021 Hall of Fame Inductees - Matthew Ellis, BSME ’03, Wesley Hostetler, BS ’06, Christina (Mangola) Martinez, BA ’10, Elizabeth (Schnelle) Watson, BSBA ’10, and Kate Witte Contact: Tom Simmons, t-simmons@onu.edu
  • 6:30 p.m. Kappa Psi Alumni meet and greet
    Raabe College of Pharmacy, RE 212, Contact: Allison Provenzale, a-provenzale@onu.edu
  • 7 p.m. - Choral Collage​
    Presser, Snyder Recital Hall, Contact: Christopher Larsen, c-larsen@onu.edu

Oct. 2

  • 8 a.m. - 2 p.m. RegistrationKing Horn Field House

  • 8 a.m. - ONU Marching Band Homecoming festivities
    All ONUMB Alumni are invited to join the 2021 Band for the Homecoming Parade and Pregame Show. Contact: Amanda Sa-strapp@onu.edu

  • 8 - 9 a.m. - Morning coffee in the Department of Nursing
    Mathile Center for the Natural Sciences Room 136, Contact: Kami Fox, k-fox.2@onu.edu

  • 8:30 - 9:45 a.m. - Tours of the Raabe College of Pharmacy
    Pharmacy Building, Alumni and Friends Entrance Plaza –Meet the Dean coffee time, College of Pharmacy and Pierstorf Pharmacy Museum guided tours. Contact: Pam Tenwalde, 419-772-2275 or p-tenwalde@onu.edu

  • 8:30 - 10 a.m. - Sweetheart breakfast
    Wishing Well, McIntosh Center
    $15 per couple –Contact: Alumni Engagement, alumni@onu.edu

  • 9 - 10:15 a.m. - T.J. Smull College of Engineering dean’s update
    James Lehr Kennedy Engineering Building, Room 103 –Dean’s update and building tours, Contact:  Laurie Laird, l-laird@onu.edu
  • 9:30 a.m. - Alumni cheerleaders
    Parade starting line –Alumni cheerleaders are welcome to join the current squad to march in the parade. Contact: Kristie McHugh, k-mchugh@onu.edu
  • 9:30 - 10:15 a.m. - Dicke College of Business Administration breakfast and building tours
    James F. Dicke Hall, Contact: Sharon Rausch, s-rausch@onu.edu
  • 9:30 - 10 a.m. - 150 Years of A&S Careers: Linkedln for Life
    James F. Dicke Hall, Computer Lab –Over 55 million employers across every industry are using Linkedln to seek out candidates. Let Polar Careers help you brand market your degree, skills, and experiences on LinkedIn. We will discuss profile development, status updates, job search and alumni networking. Contact: a-domachowski@onu.edu
  • 10 - 11 a.m. - School of Health and Behavioral Sciences strength and conditioning education program - Let us SHOW you our NEW HOME!
    Tour the facilities for the strength and conditioning major, learn about the new program and its vision.Contact: Kurt Wk-wilson.1@onu.edu
  • 10 a.m. - 2 p.m. Home Sweet Home: Engaging with Our ONU History
    Heterick Memorial Library –An opportunity to celebrate, explore and share our unique history while engaging with selected materials from our ONU Archives. Contact: Matt Francis, m-francis.1@onu.edu
  • 10:00 a.m. - 2p.m. - ONU golf teams’ Homecoming celebration
    ONU Sports Center, King Horn, Contact: Chad Bucci, c-bucci@onu.edu
  • 10 a.m. - 4 p.m. - ONU @ 150 oral history project
    Dial-Roberson Stadium –Students will begin interviewing alumni about their experiences at ONU for our course on the sesquicentennial.Contact: Russ Crawford, r-crawford.2@onu.edu
  • 10:30 a.m. - Homecoming parade
    Main Street, Village of Ada – Grand Marshals: Donald Beal, BSED ’63, and Ann (Melkerson) Beal, BSED ’61
  • 11 a.m. - Alpha Sigma Phi alumni cookout
    Alpha Sigma Phi House –The brothers of Gamma Alpha will be hosting a cookout for alumni.Contact: Ethan Stamp, e-stamp@onu.edu
  • 11:15 a.m. - Premier of the ONU Historical Documentary
    Ada Theatre –Contact: b-meek@onu.edu
  • 11:30 a.m. - 2 p.m. - Healthwise Mobile Clinic tour
    Located on the Tundra between the ONU Sports Center and Biggs Building –Tour of the ONU mobile clinic. Contact: ONU Healthwise, healthwise@onu.edu
  • 11:30 a.m. - 1:30 p.m. - Activities Tent
    Located on the Tundra between the ONU Sports Center and Biggs.
  • 11:30 a.m. - 1:30 p.m. - Inflatable Activities
    Tundra, near the ONU Sports Center
  • 11:30 a.m. - 1:30 p.m. - Tailgate party and lunch
    King Horn Field House
    $12/per: Adults, Students and Children over 9; $10/per: Children 8 and under, Contact: Alumni Relations, alumni@onu.edu
  • Noon - Alumni cheerleaders
    Dial Roberson Stadium End Zone
    Alumni cheerleaders are welcome to join the current squad to cheer on the football team during the game. Contact: Kristie McHugh, k-mchugh@onu.edu
  • Noon - Sigma Phi Epsilon open house
    Sigma Phi Epsilon Chapter House –Alumni gathering; food and various activities will occur. Contact: Jackson Deemer, j-deemer@onu.edu
  • Noon - Delta Sigma Phi open house, Alpha Eta chapter
    Delta Sigma Phi Chapter House, Contact: Aaron Litherland, a-litherland@onu.edu
  • 12:30 p.m. - Women’s tennis vs. Concordia University
    University tennis courts
  • 12:30 p.m. - Polar Bear Club tent (Invitation only)
    Dial-Roberson Stadium
    Polar Bear Club tent on the sidelines, Contact: Jeff Coleman, j-coleman@onu.edu
  • 1 p.m. - Pre-game festivities: Introduction of the 2021 William L. Robinson Young Alumni Award recipients: Courtney (Hetrick) Schkurko, BSEE ’13 & Kevin Saghy, BA ’07, and the 2021 Hall of Fame Members– Matthew Ellis, BSME ’03, Wesley Hostetler, BS ’06, Christina (Mangola) Martinez, BA ’10, Elizabeth (Schnelle) Watson, BSBA ’10, and Kate WitteDial-Roberson Stadium
  • 1:30 p.m. - ONU football game vs. Marietta
    Dial-Roberson Stadium– Homecoming king and queen coronation ceremony at halftime.
  • 2 p.m. - Kappa Psi Ada Graduate Chapter Meeting
    Raabe College of Pharmacy, Room 151 Contact: Allison Provenzale, a-provenzale@onu.edu
  • 4 p.m. - Screening of the ONU Historical Documentary
    Ada Theatre –Contact: b-meek@onu.edu
  • 4 - 6:30 p.m. - Heterick Memorial Library Archives and Office of Multicultural Development – “OMD Diverse Voices in Conversation: Remembering & Reimagining”
    Affinity Commons Building A cross-generational conversation among alumni of OMD cultural organizations. Interactive part of a larger recorded collaboration. Contact: Albertina Walker, a-walker@onu.edu
  • 4 - 7 p.m. - All-alumni receptions
    The Inn at Ohio Northern University Rooms 1, 2, 3 & 4
    $8 per person –Contact: Alumni Engagement, alumni@onu.edu
  • 4:30 p.m. - Women’s tennis vs. Muskingum University
    University tennis courts
  • 5 p.m. - Delta Sigma Phi ACB meeting and Bond Eternal Ritual, Alpha Eta Chapter
    Delta Sigma Phi Chapter House –Contact: Aaron Litherland, a-litherland@onu.edu
  • 5 p.m. - Phi Mu Delta alumni dinner
    Phi Mu Delta House on Fraternity Circle –Join us for a catered dinner and a fun time to catch-up and reminisce about the past. Contact: Zak Kratowicz, z-kratowicz@onu.edu
  • 5 - 7 p.m. - Sigma Pi alumni gathering
    Contact: Matthew Meade, m-meade@onu.edu
  • 5:30 p.m. - Kappa Psi alumni reunion dinner
    McIntosh Center, Bear Cave –Contact: Alison Provenzale, a-provenzale@onu.edu
  • 6 p.m. - Delta Sigma Phi Homecoming dinner, Alpha Eta Chapter
    Delta Sigma Phi Chapter House –Contact: Aaron Litherland, a-litherland@onu.edu
  • 7 p.m. - Men’s soccer vs. Marietta
    Kerscher Stadium
  • 7 - 9 p.m. - Religious Life Celebration Gathering
    Chapel Garden/English Chapel (depending on weather) – Join the Religious Life staff and members of our organizations for music, refreshments, and sharing memories about Religious Life on campus.  Contact:  Debbie Roehrle, d-roehrle@onu.edu
  • 7:30 p.m. - Freed Center Performance – Beauty and the Beast (Musical)
    Freed Center for the Performing Arts, Biggs Theatre
    Tickets can be purchased for $10 through pre-registration from the Office of Alumni Engagement.  Tickets will be held at will call for pick up at the Freed Center box office on the day of the event.
     

Oct. 3

  • 10:30 a.m. - Religious Life, Chapel 50-year anniversary closing worship
    English Chapel- Join alumni, students, faculty and staff for a worship service celebrating the 50-year anniversary of the dedication of the Chapel. Contact: Debbie Roehrle, d-roehrle@onu.edu

 

 

ONU Campus COVID Protocols: As of Aug. 15, the 2021 ONU Safety Plan requires everyone, regardless of vaccination status, to wear a face covering indoors while on campus. ONU continuously monitors and evaluates safeguards and safety measures. ONU is following Center for Disease Control (CDC) guidance. To view the University’s most up-to-date safety plan, please visit onu.edu/covid-19.