Skip To Main Content

Philosophy and Religion


The Department of Philosophy and Religion at Ohio Northern University is non-sectarian and reflects a serious commitment to the academic study of philosophy and religion within the university environment. Philosophy and religion are traditional disciplines that continue to anchor a serious liberal arts tradition. The focus in both disciplines is on critical thinking and deep reflection on universal human concerns as well as on the problems that human societies continue to face.

The department offers the following four majors: 


Philosophy, Politics and Economics (PPE)


Youth Ministry 

Though small, the department takes pride in the breadth and depth reflected in the courses it offers. The faculty consists in seven tenured and tenure-track professors with specialties ranging in philosophy from ancient philosophy, professional ethics, and philosophy of science to the philosophy of technology and computer ethics, and in religion from Bible to world religions and philosophical theology.

The academic study of philosophy and religion encourages a person to begin the journey of significant reflection on the ultimate questions of existence. The excitement of that journey in itself enriches the lives of all who embark on it.


Graduates from the program have been successful in pursuing further studies at the graduate level as well as entering careers in business and the non-profit sector. Some philosophy majors have gone to law school at the University of Michigan and Ohio State University. Some religion majors and youth ministry majors have gone to seminary at Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary, Candler School of Theology, Wesley Theological Seminary, Princeton Theological Seminary, and Methodist Theological School in Ohio. Some youth ministry majors have pursued careers in congregational and other contexts, such as Girl Scouts, YMCA, and 4-H.

Philosophy and Religion Department

Beth Buist

Burgett Hall 124
525 South Main Street
Ada, Ohio 45810
Monday: 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m.
Tuesday: 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m.
Wednesday: 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m.
Thursday: 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m.
Friday: 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m.
Saturday: Closed
Sunday: Closed