Skip To Main Content
Skip To Main Content

NCPA chapter garners honor for second consecutive year

The National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA) Student Chapter of Ohio Northern University’s Raabe College of Pharmacy was named the 2011 Student Chapter of the Year at the 113th NCPA Annual Convention and Trade Exposition in Nashville, Tenn., on Oct. 10. There are currently 95 NCPA Student Chapters across the nation.
This marks the second consecutive year ONU has garnered this prestigious honor. The award criteria included commitment to community service, recruiting new members, promoting independent community pharmacy and advocating legislative action.
“Being recognized as the top NCPA Student Chapter nationally is truly a testament to the hard work and dedication of our students and faculty to the profession of pharmacy,” said Dr. Jon Sprague, dean of the College of Pharmacy. “The college is committed to ensuring that all students receive the finest education possible.”
The first runner-up was Washington State University, and the University of Texas at Austin was the second runner-up.
“Our ONU NCPA students worked hard this last year on all fronts, especially with legislative events,” said Deirdre Myers, ONU pharmacy instructor, laboratory instructor and NCPA faculty liaison. “We’re really proud to be named NCPA Chapter of the Year again, which speaks to the caliber of our ONU students and their outstanding accomplishments.”
ONU’s Kari Reinhart Colman, a sixth-year pharmacy student from Arcadia, Ohio, received recognition with the ONU NCPA Chapter Member of the Year award.
At the awards ceremony, ONU’s Lauren Anderson, a fifth-year pharmacy student from Monroe, Mich., was recognized for serving in her second year on the NCPA national Student Leadership Council (SLC), and Beth Crandall, a fourth-year pharmacy student from Cattaraugus, N.Y., was recognized as serving in her first year on the SLC. ONU has two members of the 16-member national SLC.
“NCPA student chapters introduce future pharmacists to the world of independent community pharmacy ownership and its more patient-focused business model,” said Sharlea Leatherwood, NCPA Foundation president. “So, while we rightfully congratulate the exemplary work of this year’s four award-winning chapters, we are also heartened by the work of every NCPA chapter and feel even more confident about the future of independent community pharmacies.”
The NCPA represents the interests of America’s community pharmacists, including the owners of more than 23,000 independent community pharmacies, pharmacy franchises and chains. Together, they represent a $93 billion health care marketplace, have more than 315,000 employees including 62,400 pharmacists, and dispense more than 41 percent of all retail prescriptions.