Skip To Main Content

Baldwin-Wallace wins OAC Women's Tennis Championship 5-4 over Otterbein

By Jay Garneau

| Box Score |

MASON - The Baldwin-Wallace women’s tennis team won their third OAC Championship in four years as they stifled a furious Otterbein comeback to win 5-4 at the Lindner Family Tennis Center on Saturday.

The Yellow Jackets improve to 18-7 and gain an automatic berth into the NCAA Tournament to take place at the Battleground Tennis Complex hosted by Mary Washington University in Fredericksburg, Va. from May 25-30.

B-W had a 2-1 lead through the doubles matches after winning at No. 1 and No. 2 doubles.

Caitlyn Pecinovksy and Rebecca Mittler teamed to beat Brittany Rings and Cheryl Thinnes 8-6 at No.1, while the duo of Jenny Greene and Emily Pelosi defeated Jena Smith and Megan Asterino 9-8 at No. 2.

Otterbein picked up a doubles win at No. 3 as Kylie Hammons and Megan Anders combined to beat Andrea Essig and Katy Marshall 8-4.

B-W took a 4-1 lead as they won the first three matches at singles before Otterbein mounted a comeback.

At No. 1 singles, B-W’s Caitlyn Pecinovksy posted a 6-2, 6-4 win over Brittany Rings and Jenny Greene added a 6-3, 6-4 victory over Cheryl Thinnes at No. 2 singles to give B-W the 4-1 advantage.

The Cardinals won three straight matchups to tie it at 4-4.

Taylor Jordan won first with a 7-5, 7-5 victory over Andrea Essig at No. 5 singles.

At No. 4 singles, Megan Anders defeated Emily Pelosi 7-6, 6-1 to cut the B-W lead to 4-3 and Kylie Hammons beat Katy Marshall 2-6, 6-2, 7-6 at No. 6 singles to knot the match at 4-4.

In a thriller at No. 3 singles, Rebecca Mittler won 6-4, 4-6, 6-1 over Megan Asterino to clinch the OAC Crown for the Yellow Jackets.

After beating Mount Union 5-1 in the semifinals, Otterbein completes their season with an 18-5 record.

B-W won the OAC Titles in 2007 and 2008 and recaptured the title after being defeated by Ohio Northern in 2009.