Skip To Main Content
Skip To Main Content

ONU to Recognize Academic Achievement at Honors Day

Ohio Northern University celebrates its 38th annual Honors Day program on May 8. Honors Day recognizes ONU students and faculty members for their distinguished  scholarly achievement and service to the University community.

Honors Day has a rich tradition of ONU departments and colleges recognizing students for their academic achievements. Honors Day begins at 8:15 a.m. and runs until 5 p.m. More than 40 undergraduate academic departments and honor societies will present awards and induct new members.

The Raabe College of Pharmacy will conduct its annual Professional Commitment Ceremony, during which third-year pharmacy students receive their white coats. This ceremony officially marks the students’ transition from the first three years of their ONU pharmacy education to the last three professional years.

The T.J. Smull College of Engineering will conduct its annual engineering ring ceremony, inducting students into the Order of the Engineer, a roster of U.S. engineers who have publicly accepted the “Obligation of an Engineer.” The Order was initiated in the United States in 1970 to foster a spirit of pride and responsibility in the engineering profession, to bridge the gap between training and experience, and to present the public with a visible symbol identifying the engineer.

In a prelude to commencement, an Honors Day Convocation, which includes ceremonial elements such as an academic procession, inspirational messages and celebratory music, begins at 11 a.m. in the University’s Sports Center.

Dr. Jonathan Smalley, ONU professor and chair of civil engineering, will be the featured speaker at the convocation. His topic will be “On Scholarship and Character.” Benjamin McPheron, a senior electrical engineering major from Kenton, Ohio, and president of the honors council, will be the featured student speaker.

Following the convocation, a luncheon to honor students and their parents and faculty will be held at 12:15 p.m. in the Sports Center.