Skip To Main Content

President's Leadership Dessert

Recognizing the need to highlight student leaders' accomplishments on campus, the creation and implementation of the President's Leadership Dessert occurred in May 1999. The Dessert was the first of what would become an annual event recognizing the leadership contributions of students to campus organizations as well as outstanding leadership to the campus as a whole.

Each year, the Office of Student Involvement and Omicron Delta Kappa (ODK), the national leadership honorary, co-sponsor the President's Leadership Dessert. Announcement of the DeBow Freed Award for Outstanding Student Leadership is made at the dessert. Students are nominated and selected based on the positive leadership they demonstrate in the campus community. Monetary awards are given, and the names of the male and female student recipients from each class are inscribed on the bronze Freed Award plaque, which hangs in McIntosh Center's lobby.

The Alice-Kay Hilderbrand Student Organization of the Year Award was established in 2003 and is announced at the President's Leadership Dessert as well. Student organizations are selected and awarded in three distinctions: outstanding, excellence and achievement for their leadership contributions to ONU and the community. Each organization receives a monetary award and has its name engraved on a plaque that hangs in McIntosh Center's lobby.

This year's event was held on Wednesday, May 1, 2019.

Division of Student Affairs

Adriane Bradshaw

McIntosh Center: Office of Student Affairs
525 South Main Street
Ada, Ohio 45810
8:30 a.m.-5 p.m.
8:30 a.m.-5 p.m.
8:30 a.m.-5 p.m.
8:30 a.m.-5 p.m.
8:30 a.m.-5 p.m.