ONU pharmacy organization student chapter excels

The Ohio Northern University student chapter of the National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA) earned several awards at the organization’s recent annual meeting.

The ONU chapter received the 2019 NCPA Student Chapter of the Year Award. This award is given to the student chapter that demonstrates excellence throughout the year in promoting independent pharmacy and advocating for the profession. Evaluation of chapters is based upon criteria such as program originality, innovation, number of chapter members involved, impact on the community, benefit to student chapter members, and collaboration with independent pharmacies and health care organizations.

The ONU chapter was recognized for overall excellence in all categories and, in particular, advocacy efforts for independent pharmacy such as speaking with legislators during Legislative Day, hosted by the Ohio Pharmacists Association. Further, the chapter held the Pints for Policy event, which involves a legislative speaker educating students about current issues in the legislative aspect of independent pharmacy. The chapter also helped form a Findlay NCPA student chapter and conducted monthly outreach events for local independent pharmacies.

Additionally, Katie Westgerdes was named Faculty Liaison of the Year. Westgerdes, manager of the ONU HealthWise Pharmacy, helped the chapter with the development of a business plan for the NCPA competition in addition to her efforts supporting the ONU student chapter.

Also, NCPA Foundation Scholarships were awarded to ONU students Scott Gerdes, Amber Lilly, Jordan Hughes, Jenna Giacomin, Jake Lomax and Bradley Troyer. Scholarship criteria include academic performance and leadership skills.

Westgerdes and Raabe College of Pharmacy Assistant Director of Student Activities Deirdre (Dee Dee) Myers are faculty advisors of the Ohio Northern NCPA chapter. Student officers include president Alexis Dayton, president-elect Madison Yoakum, secretary Zachary Kiss and treasurer Jenna Braun.