Skip To Main Content

First-year Honor Societies

About Alpha Lambda Delta and Phi Eta Sigma

Alpha Lambda Delta (ALD) and Phi Eta Sigma (PES) are honor societies for first-year students. To be eligible, a first-year student must have at least a 3.5 GPA and be in the top twenty percent of his or her class. Students can become members by invitation only.

Our History

Alpha Lambda Delta was founded in 1924 at the University of Illinois by the Dean of Women. The purpose was to recognize women in their first year at the university who achieved academic excellence. The first chapters outside the University of Illinois were established in 1926 and 1927. In response to Title IX, the honorary voted to accept male students as well. Today ALD has nearly 300 chapters nationwide and over one million members. The Ohio Northern Chapter of ALD was installed on Thursday, January 27, 1966.

Phi Eta Sigma was founded at the University of Illinois in 1923 as an honor society for freshmen men with academic excellence. It began to expand to chapters at other universities in 1926. It wasn’t until 1975 that women were allowed to join PES. In 2009 PES reached one million members nationally. Today PES has nearly 400 chapters across the country. The Ohio Northern Chapter of PES has been active since May 22, 1966.

For more information visit the national websites:       
Alpha Lambda Delta Crest   Phi Eta Sigma Crest