Skip To Main Content

Strength of ONU Pharmacy on Display at 2016 OPA Annual Meeting

The Ohio Pharmacists Association's Annual Conference is dedicated to educational faculty, student pharmacists and pharmacists representing all areas of practice in the state of Ohio. Highlights of Ohio Northern’s contributions at this annual event and recognitions received can be found here. 




OPA Event  

Ohio Northern Representation

  April 15  

Magic Mirror – Preceptor/Student Reflection: 
“Am I as good as I think or better?”  

Dr. Jennie Grundy, associate director experiential education  

(Experiential Director Panel)

  April 15

OTC/Self-Care Challenge Competition 

ONU Student team:
Kara Kubbs, Joe Marchiano, Heather Fogarty and Amanda Liebrecht   
(Alternate: Alex Alter)

Third-Place Winners!

  April 15

Recommendations for Pharmacists on Tobacco Cessation

Dr. Brittany Long, PharmD '15, ONU/HealthWise Resident

  April 15 Awards Luncheon

Ohio Northern Awards Recipients:

Dr. Tom Kier, BSPh ’82, associate dean – Beal Award
In accordance with the wishes of the founder of the award, Dr. James Beal, the award honors any person who has given service beyond the call of duty and who has done the most for pharmacy during the years, or whose contributions to the advancement of pharmacy within the state of Ohio over a period of years, has been most outstanding. There are no public calls for nominations for the Beal Award. Nominations are not covered over. The Awards Committee shall propose a nominee to the Board of Trustees. The Board of Trustees may make recommendations to the Award Committee.

Dr. Karen Kier, BSPh ’82 , professor of pharmacy practice – Keys Award
This OPA award may be given to any person who has made an outstanding service contribution to OPA. The Executive Committee is responsible for the selection of the Keys Award recipient. (There is no public call for nominations for this award.)

Dr. Kelly Reilly Kroustos, associate professor of pharmacy practice – Young Pharmacist of the Year Award  

This award is sponsored by Pharmacists Mutual. Nominations are sought from the general membership and through the local associations. Criteria for the award:

  •   Entry degree in pharmacy received less than nine years ago.
  •   Licensed to practice in the state of Ohio
  •   Member of OPA
  •   Participation in national pharmacy associations,
      professional programs, and/or community service.
  April 15

Contraception: Beyond the Basics

Dr. Natalie DiPietro Mager, PharmD ’01, and Dr. Lindsey Peters
  April 15 Ohio Innovative Practice Forum

Dr. Amy Fanous, ONU HealthWise Mobile Health Clinic

Lauren VonStein, a fifth-year pharmacy student from Shelby, Ohio: "Survey Assessment of Warfarin Education Provided by APPE Students at a Large Academic Medical Center"
Dr. Louise Maris, ONU Pharmacy / Kroger Resident

  April 15 Poster Sessions Sean Bennett, a fourth-year pharmacy student from Richfield, Ohio; Ashley Raffay, a fourth-year pharmacy student from Olmsted Falls, Ohio, and Dr. Jessica Hinson, assistant professor of pharmacy practice:  
"Patient Vaccination Beliefs in Community Pharmacy"

Lucas Casserlie, a fifth-year pharmacy student from Doylestown, Ohio, and Dr. Natalie DiPietro Mager, PharmD ’01, associate professor of pharmacy practice: 
"Ohio Pharmacists’ Perceptions of Advancing Public Health Priorities through Medication Therapy Management"

Dr. Natalie DiPietro Mager, PharmD ’01, DR Bright, D Markus, L Batz, DM Hartzell, J Gartner:
"Expanding Access to Preconception Care in Ohio Through Medication Therapy Management"

Shannon Kraus, a fifth-year pharmacy student from Pittsburgh, PA; Cody Lovejoy, a fifth-year pharmacy student from Cridersville, Ohio; and Wisdom Adaka, a fifth-year pharmacy student from Hawthorne, CA
"Analysis of 2015 ASHP PGY1 Initial Matching Data"

Nicole Thiele, a fifth-year pharmacy student from Auburn, IN
"A Study of Student Pharmacist’s Sleep Habits"

  April 16 Innovative Pharmacy Business Plan Competition

ONU fourth-year student team:
Emily Carlson, Hannah Gustafson, Austin Hilverding, Alexa Smalley and Chau Tran


First-Place Winners!

  April 16 New and Emerging Multiple Sclerosis Management   Dr. Erin Peterson, assistant director of phamacy practice
  April 16 Student Olympics Challenge


Megan Myers, Ashley Raffay, Sean Bennett, Clare Korleski, Sarah Bova, Shannon Kraus, Taylor Reed, Alison Dailey, Miranda Kay and Jennifer Kappenman

First-Place Winners!

  April 16 ONU Alumni Reception All faculty, staff, students and alumni attendees
  April 16 President's Banquet


Ohio Northern alumnus Dr. Chet Kaczor, PharmD ’06, installed as OPA president.
Presidency transerred to Kaczor from 2015 OPA President Dr. Jeff Bartone, PharmD ’08, a 2008 ONU pharmacy alumnus.

  April 17 New Drug Update 2016
(two sessions)
Dr. Karen Kier, BSPh ’82, professor of pharmacy practice and director of assessment