Skip To Main Content

Pharmacy Student Receives National Scholarship

Oct 19, 2006

Rachelle Younger, a sixth-year pharmacy student from Bloomington, Ill., was awarded a scholarship from the National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA) at their 108th Annual Convention and Trade Exposition in Las Vegas.

Younger was one of only 27 pharmacy students in the nation to receive this honor.

The NCPA, founded in 1898, represents the nation’s community pharmacists, including the owners of more than 24,000 pharmacies.

The NCPA Foundation, established in 1953 to honor former National Association of Retail Druggists Executive Secretary John W. Dargavel, is a nonprofit organization that provides educational and research support to pharmacy faculty, students and practitioners, and assists future pharmacists by providing scholarships and low interest educational loans.

Founded in 1884, the ONU’s College of Pharmacy has had the privilege to graduate more than 7,000 pharmacists during its 120-year history. With a 100 percent placement rate of its graduates, the R.H. Raabe College of Pharmacy is distinctive among other colleges of pharmacy as it integrates a comprehensive foundation in the pharmaceutical sciences and the practice of pharmacy along with a strong liberal arts curriculum.