Skip To Main Content

ONU Symphony Orchestra to Present 'Sounds of Silence'

Oct 26, 2006

The Ohio Northern University Symphony Orchestra will present “Sounds of Silence” at the Freed Center for the Performing Arts on Saturday, Nov. 4 at 8 p.m.

The concert will feature Virgo Veldi, guest saxophonist from Estonia and Orna Arania, guest vocalist.

The concert, which commemorates the devastation and rebuilding of Estonia, will include pieces such as “The Book of Lamentations” by Yehezkel Braun, “In These Gardens,” by Tonu Korvits, and Alexandre Glazounov’s Concerto in E Flat. An informance featuring guest artists will take place immediately following the performance.

Veldi is currently the professor of music at the Estonian Academy of Music and holds a position with the Estonian National Symphony Orchestra. He will perform Alexandre Glazounov’s “Concerto in E Flat.”

Israeli soprano Arania has performed not only in the United States, but also in Tel Aviv and in Israel. She currently teaches at Northern Illinois University.

The concert will also feature multimedia effects created by Robert Behrens, director of musical theatre and assistant professor of communication arts, and Kathe Devault, resident lighting designer and production manager.

Tickets are $15 for adults and $12 for students and senior citizens. The Freed Center box office is open Monday-Friday from noon to 5 p.m. and Saturdays from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Phone orders are accepted with MasterCard, VISA or Discover by calling (419) 772-1900.

Related Northern News
Latest Video
Latest Photo Feature