Skip To Main Content
Skip To Main Content

New honorary AED comes to ONU

ONU is home to the newest chapter of Alpha Epsilon Delta (AED), which recognizes scholarship, leadership and service in future healthcare providers. The Ohio Mu Chapter became the 223rd chapter in the U.S. and 11th in Ohio when it was initiated on ONU Honors Day, April. 25.

The ONU chapter was originated by the current President Elizabeth Lendrum, a senior biology pre-medical student from Shreve, Ohio. With help from the executive committee Vice President Ryan Paulus, a senior in pharmacy from Celina, Ohio; Secretary Alex Kneubehl,  a junior in molecular biology from Masury, Ohio; Treasurer Bhavana Prasanna, a senior in pharmacy from Columbus, Ohio; Historian Olivia Johntony, a junior in biochemistry from Youngstown, Ohio; Service Coordinator  Jayme Wright, a junior in biology from Coldwater, Ohio; Membership/Banquet Induction Coordinator Brittany Miller, a junior in biology from Akron, Ohio; Scalpel Reporter Emily Hall, a senior in biology from Carey, Ohio, and Dr. Robert J. Kearns, Ph.D., Regional II Director of AED, 64 Ohio Northern University students were inducted as founding chapter members at ONU. 

Students were selected based on their outstanding achievements in scholarship, leadership, and service. The Ohio Mu Chapter plans to prepare its members for graduate school and future healthcare career by providing professional speakers, student panels, mock interviews, graduate test prep, tips on resume building, and by conducting medically related service projects.

AED, founded in 1926 by Dr. Jack Montgomery from the University of Alabama, is a health pre-professional National Honor Society developed to benefit students in pursuit of professional healthcare careers in areas such as nursing, pharmacy, pre-medicine and medical laboratory science students.