Skip To Main Content
Skip To Main Content

Ohio Northern University pharmacy student wins ASHP Student Leadership Award

Apr 15, 2014

Ohio Northern University student Kellie Evans, a fifth-year pharmacy major from Westlake, Ohio, has been chosen as a recipient of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) Student Leadership Award. Evans is one of 12 students in the nation to be selected for the award.

The Student Leadership Award is presented to students in their second through fourth professional years, for a total of 12 recipients across the nation. The award recognizes and celebrates students who represent the very best attributes and accomplishments of ASHP student members, specifically those who are interested in health-system pharmacy that have demonstrated outstanding leadership skills.

Evans has won the Ohio Society of Health-System Pharmacists scholarship award, the ONU Student Society of Health System Pharmacy Leadership Award, the ONU Outstanding Leadership and Character in Pharmacy Award, and the ONU Meritorious Service Award. She is a member of Phi Lambda Sigma, the national pharmacy leadership society.

Evans said, “The experiences that Ohio Northern University and the Raabe College of Pharmacy have offered me are unlike any other. I am blessed to have spent the last five years on campus learning from the experiences of outstanding leaders and mentors comprised of our faculty, staff and my peers. Leadership is not something that you learn overnight, but ONU has accelerated that process and allowed me to develop key skillsearly in my career. I am privileged to have been named a recipient of this immense honor, and I hope to continue to make my ONU family proud.”

Evans will be awarded a plaque, a $2,500 cash award presented by the ASHP Research and Education Foundation, and a drug information library.

Related Northern News
Related Majors
Latest Video
Latest Photo Feature