Skip To Main Content
Skip To Main Content

Music fraternity receives awards

ONU’s Gamma Chi Chapter of Delta Omicron, a national music fraternity, has been named recipient of national chapter awards for scholarship and publicity. The awards recognize the outstanding scholastic achievements of the membership and diligence of the officers. 

At the most recent national convention in Lexington, Ky., the chapter was also awarded the Progress Award and the Publicity Award in recognition of work accomplished by officers and members for the previous academic year. In addition, Carol J. Gramm, Communication Skills Center, was recognized as a national outstanding chapter adviser for her work with Gamma Chi Chapter.

Marissa Mediati is current chapter president and Dr. Henning Schroeder is newly-elected faculty sponsor.  Dr. MJ Sunny Zank has served as faculty sponsor of the chapter since 1999, and 2013 music education graduate, Krista Shorf is outgoing president.  On Honors Day, the Delta Omicron Senior Honor Pin for academic excellence was awarded to 2013 graduating seniors, Shorf, Maria Fricano and Dylan Wood. 

Delta Omicron’s mission is “To Promote and Support Excellence in Music and Musicianship.”  The organization, founded in 1903 at the Cincinnati Conservatory of Music, is open to music majors, minors and alumni who have maintained the required academic standing for at least one marking period.