Skip To Main Content
Skip To Main Content

Professor to speak at national pharmacy conference


Jenelle Sobotka, professor and endowed chair of pharmacy practice at Ohio Northern University’s Raabe College of Pharmacy, will deliver the closing session speech at the Texas Pharmacy Association’s Rxperts Conference and Expo in The Woodlands, Texas, on July 26-29.

Sobotka will speak on “Transforming Patient Care: Influencing the System through Quality Patient Care,” which will focus on the challenges in “taking care of patients” that pharmacists will face in the future. The Rxperts Conference is the largest pharmacy conference in the southwest, with top therapeutic education sessions, state board updates and more than 100 companies in attendance.

Sobotka is president of the American Pharmacists Association (APhA), the largest pharmacist organization in the United States. Prior to this, she served two terms on the APhA board and two terms with the Ohio Pharmacists Association Board of Directors. Sobotka currently serves on the board of the St. Vincent de Paul Charitable Pharmacy in Cincinnati.

Sobotka earned both her bachelor’s and doctor of pharmacy degrees from the University of Iowa. She was a clinical specialist in internal medicine at the VA Medical Center with an appointment as assistant professor at the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy before joining the staff of the Iowa Pharmacy Association, where she served as associate director and director of the Iowa Center for Pharmaceutical Care (ICPC). Sobotka co-authored “A Practical Guide to Pharmaceutical Care,” published by APhA. ICPC received the APhA Foundation’s Pinnacle Award in 1999 for its work in advancing patient care practice. Sobotka joined Proctor & Gamble in 1998 as professional relations director. She was responsible for establishing partnerships and programs with national and international organizations and individual experts from the pharmacy and primary care professions.

Recognized as an APhA Fellow in 2003, Sobotka also received the 2009 National Pharmaceutical Association Foundation Excellence Award, the 2008 Kappa Epsilon National Career Achievement Award, the 2005 Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Service Award, and the 2003 University of Iowa Rho Chi Honorary Alumni Award.