Skip To Main Content
Skip To Main Content

ONU honors students, organizations during President’s Leadership Dessert

Apr 27, 2012

From left: Dr. DeBow Freed, Katelyn Brubaker, Tyler Hertenstein, Stacy McClelland, R. Taylor Reed, Zachary Dunn, Molly Wascher, Micah Hein, Shana Tachikawa.


Ohio Northern University honored student leaders and organizations during the annual President’s Leadership Dessert on April 25, 2012.

The DeBow Freed Leadership Awards, the highest level of recognition for excellence in student leadership, were presented to students according to years spent on campus. In addition, three student organizations were honored with the Alice-Kay Hilderbrand Student Organization of the Year Award in recognition of their active leadership roles at ONU and positive contributions to the campus community.

Winners of the leadership awards were Micah Andrew Hein, a senior language arts education major from Wilmington, Ohio; Shana Tachikawa, a senior journalism major from Powell, Ohio; Zachary Dunn, a junior chemistry major from Harrod, Ohio; Molly Wascher, a fourth-year pharmacy major from West Bloomfield, Mich.; R. Taylor Reed, a third-year pharmacy major from Springdale, Ark.; Stacy McClelland, a senior civil engineering major from Lorain, Ohio; Tyler Hertenstein, a freshman engineering education major from St. Marys, Ohio; and Katelyn Brubaker, a first-year pharmacy major from Lexington, Ky.

Honored with the Alice-Kay Hilderbrand Student Organization of the Year Award were the Panhellenic Council (third place), the Student-Society of Health System Pharmacists (second place) and the National Community Pharmacists Association Student Chapter (first place).