Skip To Main Content

Center Stage

Mar 21, 2012

ONU receives accolades at national convention; Sobotka sworn in as APhA president

Jenelle L. Sobotka, Ohio Northern University Raabe College of Pharmacy professor and endowed chair, was sworn in as president of the American Pharmacists Association (APhA) at its annual conference, APhA2012, in New Orleans from March 9-12.

In addition, Ohio Northern University collected numerous individual and chapter accolades at the four-day event, which drew nearly 6,500 pharmacists and student pharmacists from every pharmacy practice setting.


APhA2012 was driven by a strategic agenda to create a single, powerful voice of pharmacy. Its theme, “Driving Connections, Transforming Patient Care,” was conceived to drive collaboration and connections between all health care providers. The ultimate goal is to maximize patient care and advance the roll that pharmacists play in its delivery.

As president for 2012-13, Sobotka delivered a message of “Transforming Patient Care by LEADing,” stating, “Pharmacy’s transformation across the tipping point from a model of drug distribution to one of patient care will require everyone, not just individuals, to LEAD through a commitment to Leadership, Engagement, Action and Determination to do what is needed to make a difference. New health care delivery systems are still being tested, and patient care needs to be transformed. We must keep our focus to ensure pharmacists are recognized as the health care team member responsible for ensuring optimal medication therapy outcomes for patients.”

David R. Bright, PharmD, BCACP, assistant professor of pharmacy at ONU, received the 2012 APhA Distinguished New Practitioner Award. Bright was selected in recognition of the many accomplishments he has achieved in his career, especially in the areas of disease state management and wellness, medication therapy management (MTM), and student mentorship.

The Distinguished New Practitioner Award was established in 2010 to recognize a new practitioner, within his/her first five years of practice, who has demonstrated distinctive achievements in mentorship, service and commitment to the profession of pharmacy.

Allen Nichol, pharmaceutical care consultant with Nichol & Associates, ONU alumnus, and adjunct professor at ONU, received the 2012 APhA Academy of Pharmacy Practice and Management (APhA-APPM) Distinguished Achievement Award in Community and Ambulatory Practice. Nichol was selected in recognition of his impact on pharmacy practice, specifically his efforts to raise awareness of the benefits and value of pharmacist-provided clinical services and to build a regulatory framework that supports community pharmacists and their ability to deliver MTM services.

ONU’s Raabe College of Pharmacy APhA Academy of Student Pharmacists (ASP) chapter was one of five chapters in the nation to be awarded the second annual Generation Rx National Award, which recognizes use of the Generation Rx toolkit, an easy-to-use communications package that includes talking points, presentation materials and tips to enable users to raise awareness of prescription drug abuse in their communities.

This award is part of a competition among the 123 APhA-ASP chapters. The other four schools collecting the prestigious award were D’Youville College School of Pharmacy, Union University School of Pharmacy, University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy and University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy.

In addition, the ONU APhA-ASP student chapter received the 2012 Region 4 Award for Operation Immunization, a promotional campaign designed to increase community awareness of immunization information and advise patients where they can obtain the proper immunizations. This campaign also promotes the implementation of immunization services in pharmacies.

Related Northern News
Latest Video
Latest Photo Feature