Skip To Main Content
Skip To Main Content

Pharmacy honors distinguished alumni

Ohio Northern University’s Raabe College of Pharmacy honored three alumni with Distinguished Alumni Awards on Nov. 2. This is the fifth year that Distinguished Alumni Awards have been presented by the Raabe College of Pharmacy.
Mark J. Gregory, a 1982 graduate, Renee Coffman, a 1987 graduate, and Susan M. Meyer, a 1983 graduate, were recognized for their outstanding career accomplishments and their contributions to ONU.
“We are extremely honored to recognize these distinguished alumni for their significant contributions to the profession of pharmacy,” said Dr. Jon Sprague, dean of the College of Pharmacy. “These individuals have helped build the proud tradition and excellence of Ohio Northern’s pharmacy college.”
Gregory is vice president of pharmacy and government relations for Kerr Drug Inc., a regional, 90-pharmacy chain in North Carolina. Gregory has been in his current position since September 1997. His responsibilities include oversight of pharmacy systems and automation, managed care contracting, store support, pharmacy administration, operational policies and procedures, compliance programs, university relationships, and government affairs activities. He also serves as Kerr Drug’s privacy officer and chairman of Kerr Drug’s PAC.
Gregory was a practicing pharmacist for 11 years when he assumed corporate positions as manager of Pharmacy Systems and Third Party Programs at Thrift Drug Company in Pittsburgh, Pa. After the acquisition of Thrift Drug by the Eckerd Corporation, Gregory worked for a brief period of time in pharmacy operations for Eckerd.
In addition, Gregory is past president of North Carolina Association of Pharmacists, current chairman of the executive committee of the North Carolina Retail Merchants Association, immediate past chair of NACDS Policy Council, and immediate past facilitating chair for Coalition for Community Pharmacy Action (CCPA).
Coffman is co-founder of the Roseman University of Health Sciences and serves as its executive vice president for Quality Assurance and Intercampus Consistency and the dean of its College of Pharmacy. Following her graduation from ONU, Coffman worked as a pharmacist in her hometown of Bucyrus, Ohio, and in Piqua, Ohio.
Coffman went on to become a founding member of the faculty at Western University of Health Sciences, where she also held the position of facilitative officer for student services. In 1999, Coffman and her husband, Dr. Harry Rosenberg, moved to southern Nevada and founded the first college of pharmacy in the state. Over the next 10 years, the Nevada College of Pharmacy expanded to become the University of Southern Nevada, adding a College of Nursing, an MBA program and a College of Dental Medicine and extending its educational offerings to a campus in South Jordan, Utah. In 2011, the Board of Trustees voted to honor its co-founders by renaming the institution the Roseman University of Health Sciences.
Meyer is associate dean for education and professor at the University of Pittsburgh School of Pharmacy. From 1987 to 1990, Meyer served as an assistant professor in pharmacy practice and administration at the College of Pharmacy at Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey. From 1990 to 2006, Meyer served as a staff member for the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP). She managed the development of the Education Scholar teaching development program for health professions educators; supervised the development and revisions of the CAPE educational outcomes; and led the AACP’s institutional research activities.
Meyer represents pharmacy education on the Healthy People Curriculum Task Force, an interprofessional group convened by the Association for Prevention Teaching and Research. In 2010-11, Meyer participated as a member of the Interprofessional Education Collaborative Expert Panel that authored “Core Competencies for Interprofessional Practice” and now participates on the HRSA-convened working group on Faculty Development in Interprofessional Team-Based Care.