Skip To Main Content
Skip To Main Content

Pharmacy presentation earns merit award

Jun 16, 2011

Ohio Northern University’s presentation of “Preliminary Results from a University-Based Disease State Management Program Focused on Hypertension, Hyperlipidemia, and Diabetes” was honored with a 2011 APhA-APPM (Academy of Pharmacy Practice and Management) Presentation Merit Award.
The presentation merit awards were created by the APhA-APPM to recognize exceptional poster presentations at the APhA Annual Meeting and Exposition, which was held in Seattle, Wash., this year.
This poster exposition offers practitioners, scientists and student pharmacists the opportunity to share innovative practice information, disseminate research findings and share educational tools. At this year’s meeting, 317 posters demonstrating innovation, insight and contribution to pharmacy practice were selected to be displayed in the Contributed Papers Poster Session.
Members of the team that submitted the award-winning presentation were David Bright, assistant professor of pharmacy practice, Michael Rush, director of ONU’s Healthwise, Kelly Kroustos, assistant professor of pharmacy practice, Sara Terrell, assistant professor of exercise physiology, Scott Swanson, associate professor of exercise physiology, Amy Stockert, assistant professor of biochemistry, Karen Kier, professor of clinical pharmacy, Rhonda Thompson, assistant professor of nursing, Michael Milks, professor of pharmacology, Bethany Murphy, pharmacy practice resident, and Natalie DiPietro, assistant professor of pharmacy practice.
The American Pharmacists Association is an organization representing more than 62,000 practicing pharmacists, pharmaceutical scientists, student pharmacists, pharmacy technicians and others interested in advancing the profession. APhA is the first established and largest association of pharmacists in the United States dedicated to helping pharmacists improve medication use and advance patient care.