Skip To Main Content
Skip To Main Content

Students to participate in Hanyang University Summer Program

Jun 16, 2011

Eleven undergraduate students from Ohio Northern University have been selected to participate in the Hanyang University Summer Program for 2011.These students, who leave June 23, will spend four weeks in summer studies at Hanyang University in South Korea.
Students from each of the University’s four undergraduate colleges have received fellowships for 2011. In addition, two exchange students also have been chosen for the program.

This is the fifth year for the exchange agreement between Hanyang University in Seoul, South Korea, and Ohio Northern. The fellowships include four weeks of summer study at Hanyang University, tuition, housing and excursion costs. Students also receive a stipend to apply toward the cost of airfare. Students have participated in a number of orientation sessions at ONU to prepare for their travels.

With 20 colleges and 12 postgraduate schools, Hanyang University is one of the leading private universities in Korea. Located in Seoul, the undergraduate student population is approximately 32,000, which includes 3,500 postgraduate students enrolled in a wide variety of disciplines.
Selected from the Getty College of Arts & Sciences were Megan Piersol, a senior history major from Warren, Ohio, and Abbie Sterling, a senior creative writing major from Sylvania, Ohio.

Selected from The James F. Dicke College of Business Administration were Jasmine Coleman, a senior international business and economics major from Canton, Ohio, Jacob Schwab, a senior international business and economics major from Willard, Ohio, and Sam Jones, a marketing major from Continental, Ohio.
Selected from the T.J. Smull College of Engineering were Ashley Batesole, a sophomore mechanical engineering major from Medina, Ohio, and Scott Bauman, a junior mechanical engineering major from Napoleon, Ohio.
Selected from the Raabe College of Pharmacy were Tiffany Dao, a fourth-year pharmacy major from Troy, Ohio, and Gabriella Gegenheimer, a second-year pharmacy major from Upper Arlington, Ohio.
The two exchange students are Sachiko Arakawa, a senior nursing major from Rushsylvania, Ohio, and Ayumi Murabayashi, a junior international studies major from Mie-ken, Japan

As part of the exchange, four students from Hanyang University are expected to attend ONU for the 2011-12 academic year. Deanna Shine is the program coordinator for the Hanyang University Summer Program and exchange.