Skip To Main Content
Skip To Main Content

Law hosts 26 students in LSAC PLUS program

The Ohio Northern University Pettit College of Law will host 26 students from around the nation for the Law School Admission Council (LSAC) Pre-Law Undergraduate Scholars (PLUS) program beginning Monday, June 6.

 The program is funded through a grant from the LSAC. Schools that qualify for these grants can receive a maximum of $100,000 per year for up to three years. This marks the second year that ONU’s College of Law is involved in the program.

ONU was selected as one of three schools nationwide to receive the LSAC PLUS grant. The schools are selected based on geographic location, targeted population, and the strength of the school’s program combined with the law school’s commitment.

 The program gives students the techniques necessary to succeed in law school and show them legal career opportunities. As part of the program, students will take field trips to local courts, the Ohio Supreme Court in Columbus, and the National Museum of the U.S. Air Force in Dayton.

 PLUS programs seek college students from racial and ethnic minority groups underrepresented in the legal profession. The program is designed for college freshmen and sophomores, and preference is given to students who have registered with

 The participating students are Deborah Akinwunmi from Marist College in New York, Maurice Bell from Mercer County Community College in New Jersey, Rashydia Blair from North Carolina A&T State University, Nathaniel Crawford from Denison University in Ohio, Alexis Franklin from Denison University in Ohio, LeVerne Harris from Bethune Cookman University in Florida, Chelsea Hollenstein from City College of New York, Ji Yong Hong from Cornell University in New York, Shayla Ivezzy from Spelman College in Georgia, LaDale Jackson from Xavier University of Louisiana, Brenee Johnson from Bethune Cookman University in Florida, Antoine Kajangwe from Oklahoma Christian University, Micharon Matthews from Florida A&M University, Deanna McBride from Rutgers University in New Jersey, Brandon McWaters from Oklahoma Christian University, Irene Mendez from Miami Dade College in Florida, McDaniel Oliver from Florida A&M University, Maria Pavon from Miami Dade College in Florida, Alexis Romero from Stanford University in California, Jeremy Sanford from Jackson State University in Mississippi, Milan Sledge from Syracuse University in New York, Ja’Kecia Smith from Bethune Cookman University in Florida, Kenille Sumler from University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Quanhao Tang from Washington University in St. Louis, Mo., Amber Thomas from Central State University in Ohio, and Ramiro Trejo from Denison University in Ohio.