Skip To Main Content
Skip To Main Content

ONU pharmacy alumni receive recognition at Ohio Pharmacists Association conference

Apr 29, 2011

Ohio Northern University pharmacy alumni received awards at the 133rd Ohio Pharmacists Association (OPA) Annual Conference & Trade Show April 8-10 in Columbus, Ohio.

Kimberly Broedel-Zaugg, of Lima, Ohio, was chosen as trustee representing District 3. Broedel-Zaugg received her pharmacy degree from Ohio Northern University in 1981 and a Ph.D. in pharmacy in administration from Ohio State University. Broedel-Zaugg is a professor of pharmacy practice at the Ohio Northern University’s Raabe College of Pharmacy. In addition to being a trustee for District 3, Broedel-Zaugg is a member of the Resolutions and Bylaws Committee.

Owner of Henderson Pharmacy Services in Chillicothe, Ohio, Ronald Henderson was installed as trustee representing District 7. Henderson graduated from Ohio Northern University in 1975 with a pharmacy degree. Ernest Boyd, OPA executive director says, “We are pleased to add Ron to our excellent Board of Trustees. Through his volunteerism and active participation in the association over the years, he has proven to be an asset. We look forward to working with him as he begins his new role as trustee.”

Gregory Krieger, of Youngstown, Ohio, was installed as trustee representing District 14. Krieger earned his pharmacy degree from Ohio Northern University in 1977. He now is the area sales specialist for Care Point Partners in Canfield, Ohio. An OPA member since 1979, Krieger also is the past recipient of the Bowl of Hygeia Award, which honors a pharmacist who has contributed to the progress of his or her community.

Jeffery Bartone, of Oakwood, Ohio, was installed as Executive Committee member-at-large. Bartone graduated with a Doctor of Pharmacy from Ohio Northern University in 2008 and now works at Hock’s Pharmacy in Vandalia, Ohio. As a member of the OPA Executive Committee, Bartone “hopes to increase membership and increase communication between the board and the membership.”

Kevin Fuschetto, of Canfield, Ohio received the 2011 Innovative Pharmacy Practice Award. This award is presented to a pharmacist who demonstrates innovative pharmacy practice resulting in improved patient care by providing effective patient counseling. Fuschetto is a 2007 graduate of Ohio Northern University. He currently works at Giant Eagle, serves as diabetes educator with the Diabetes Ten City Challenge, and is a member of the OPA, Ohio Society of Health-System Pharmacists, American Diabetes Association and American Pharmacists Association.

The Distinguished Young Pharmacist Award was awarded to Justin P. Friesner of Columbus, Ohio. This award, sponsored by Pharmacists Mutual Insurance Company, recognizes pharmacists who have graduated in the last 10 years and have made contributions to the profession of pharmacy. Freisner, a 2006 Ohio Northern University graduate, has taken an active role serving as a mentor for pharmacy students. Students at the Ohio State University College of Pharmacy voted him the preceptor-coach of the year in 2007. He also has made presentations to school children and community groups on prescription drug abuse, poison prevention awareness and safe medication use.

Catherine Kuhn, of Athens, Ohio, was installed as trustee representing District 8. Kuhn earned her pharmacy degree from Ohio Northern University in 2006 and completed a pharmacy community care residence at Ohio State University. She is the medication therapy management coordinator and patient care pharmacist for the Kroger Company’s Columbus Division. Kuhn also was recently honored by the American Pharmacists Association as the recipient of its Distinguished New Practitioner Award.

Eric Graf, of Wadsworth, Ohio, is the 2011 recipient of the Good Government Award. The Good Government Award honors pharmacists who have produced major contributions to the public thorough government and/or legislative service/education at the local, state or national level. Graf earned his Bachelor of Science in pharmacy in 1982 from Ohio Northern University and then a Master of Science in pharmaceutical administration from Ohio State University in 1986. Graf currently serves on the Dean’s Advisory Council for Northeastern Ohio Universities College of Pharmacy and is a board member for the Summa Wadsworth Rittman Hospital. He has been a member of the OPA since 1988, serves on the association’s Disease State Management Task Force, and represents the 11th district on the OPA State Board of Trustees.