Skip To Main Content
Skip To Main Content

ONU to host Ultimate Frisbee Tournament

Apr 12, 2011

Ohio Northern University will host the USA Ultimate Frisbee Division III Ohio Valley Conference Championships on Saturday, April 16, and Sunday, April 17.

Eight men’s teams from Ohio colleges will compete in the tournament: Kenyon College, Oberlin College, Ohio Northern University, Ohio Wesleyan University, Xavier University, Denison University, the College of Wooster and Capital University. Six women’s teams from Ohio colleges will compete: Ohio Northern, College of Wooster, Oberlin College, Ohio Wesleyan University, Kenyon College, and Denison University. 

Offensive captains Andrew Marshall, a junior electrical engineering major from Bellefontaine, Ohio, and Ryan Brune, a senior mechanical engineering major from Decatur, Ind., lead the Ohio Northern men’s team. Captain Nate Hedrick, a fourth-year pharmacy major from Brecksville, Ohio, leads the defense.

Co-captains Alicia Hathaway, a senior electrical engineering major from Fostoria, Ohio, and Kaila Bollinger, second-year pharmacy major from Bloomville, Ohio, lead Ohio Northern’s women’s team.

The ONU men’s team has had a strong season thus far, with a 12-5 record, including a second-place finish at a Miami University tournament that featured 18 teams. ONU created their first Ultimate Frisbee team in 1995 when Dr. William Theisen, ONU professor of physics, joined the faculty. The team has done well over the years, competing in nationals four times.

The ONU women’s team competed at Ohio State University and Case Western University this year and performed well at both events. The team’s only losses were to Division I schools. Established in 2002, the ONU women’s team has earned bids to regionals in numerous years and competed at nationals in 2009.

Cindy Brucato, a fifth-year pharmacy and biology major from Ashland, Ohio, was named Ohio Valley Conference Championship Coordinator through USA Ultimate for the 2011 college series. With this position, she is responsible for all Division III women’s conference tournaments for Ohio, Pennsylvania, and West Virginia. Earning Ohio Northern University the bid to host the Ohio Valley Conference Tournament, Brucato will act as tournament director at the event.

Both the men’s and women’s teams will compete in pool play on Saturday. After the pool play is complete, teams will be reseeded and move into bracket play to determine placement. The men’s bracket will be double elimination, while the women’s bracket is single elimination. Based on the results from the men’s bracket, one bid to the Division I regionals will be available, as will four bids to the Division III regionals. In the women’s bracket, one bid to the Division I regionals and one bid for the Division III regionals will be available. The championship game will take place about 1 p.m. for both divisions on Sunday. The game format is seven-on-seven.