Skip To Main Content
Skip To Main Content

Jessup Moot Court team competes in quarterfinals

The ONU Law Jessup International Law Moot Court Team completed Feb. 10-12 in the 2011 Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition Midwest U.S. Super-Regional Round in Chicago. Out of 24 teams competing, ONU finished seventh after the preliminary four rounds.

The top eight teams move on to single elimination. In the preliminary rounds ONU beat Michigan State 9-0 and Indiana University 9-0. They also beat

Marquette 6-3 giving them a preliminary record of 3-1. They ranked higher than many top schools including Ohio State, Northwestern, Wisconsin, and Notre Dame.

In the single elimination rounds they lost in the quarterfinals to Loyola University, which for the past five years has competed with Case Western for the number one spot. The round was very close.

Although ONU has a great Jessup history, noted coach Geoffrey Lawson, "I believe this is the first time since the U.S. consolidated its Jessup regional rounds six years ago, from 24 to 12, that ONU has moved into the quarterfinals." 144 teams competed across the country this year.  In the Midwest U.S. Super-Regional Rounds the regional champion was Case Western Reserve University and the runner-up was the University of Michigan.  

Both teams advance to the international rounds in Washington D.C. The other semifinalist teams were Loyola University of Chicago and Thomas M. Cooley Law School. The quarter finalist teams were Ohio Northern University, the University of Detroit Mercy, the University of Tennessee, and Wayne State University. At the awards banquet, U.S. Ambassador at Large for War Crimes David Scheffer spoke on the complexities of the International Law of Armed Conflict and presented the ONU Law team with the quarterfinalist award.

Team members are Ashley Rodabaugh, a second-year student from Lima, Ohio, Geoffrey Lawson, a third-year student from Lima, Ohio, Lindsey Alexander, a second-year student from Yardley, Pa., and David Maldonado, a third-year student from Billings, Mont. The students were assisted by professors Michael Lewis and Boris Mamlyuk.