Skip To Main Content
Skip To Main Content

Sebok Pharmacy Lecture Series

The Sebok Pharmacy Lecture was established by alumni and friends to honor Dr. Albert A. Sebok, BSPh ’53, Hon. D. ’88, one of the Raabe College of Pharmacy’s most distinguished alumni. Sebok joined Standard Drug as a store manager after graduation. In 1961, Revco acquired Standard. Under his leadership as senior vice president for store operations, Revco DrugStores Inc. became the largest discount drug chain in America. He was an original member of ONU’s Pharmacy Advisory Board and the founder and instructor of the college’s contemporary pharmacy practice class. He received an honorary doctorate degree from Ohio Northern in 1988.

The 2016 Sebok Lecture and Distiguished Alumni ceremonies will be held on February 12, 2016

The 2016 Sebok Lecture will highlight the changes in pharmacy education over the past 40 years and look into the crystal ball to predict where pharmacy practice and pharmacy education is headed over the lifetime of current students. Much has changed since Mr. John Armitstead, MS, RPh, FASHP was a student at Ohio Northern University – both in content of the curriculum and in technology and teaching methodologies.  Major changes in the pharmacy curriculum occurred with the switch from a BS degree to the Pharmacy Doctorate degree.  However that was only the beginning of changes to pharmacy education to prepare pharmacists for roles in medication management and patient care. The pharmacy curriculum will continue to evolve substantially into the future, with additions like expanded experiential activities in direct patient care and interprofessional education with other health care team members.  The goal is to prepare pharmacists for a future of delivering team-based patient care, including medication management as well as preventative health and wellness efforts, that result in positive health outcomes and value to the health care system. Mr. Armistead is the current System Director of Pharmacy Services at Lee Memorial Hospital in Ft. Meyers, FL

 Previous Sebok Lecture Speakers

2015—Peggy Piascik, Ph.D, Professor of Pharmacy Practice and Science at the University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy 

2014—Lisa Tonrey, MHA, BPharm, PhC, FAPhA, CAPT, U.S. Public Health Service ONU Video

2013—Dr. Julie A. Johnson, V. Ravi Chandran Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of Florida Colleges of Pharmacy and Medicine ONU Video

2012—Thomas E. Menighan, executive vice president and chief executive officer, American Pharmacists Association (APhA), ONU Video, WLIO coverage-2012 Sebok Lecture

2011—Dr. Carmen A Catizone, executive director, National Association of Boards of Pharmacy, WLIO coverage-2011 Sebok Lecture

2010—Steven C. Anderson, president and CEO, National Association of Chain Drug Stores