Skip To Main Content

Raabe College of Pharmacy honors distinguished alumni

Nov 4, 2010

Ohio Northern University’s Raabe College of Pharmacy honored three alumni with Distinguished Alumni Awards on Nov. 5. This is the fourth year that Distinguished Alumni Awards have been presented by the Raabe College of Pharmacy.

Val Watts, a 1990 graduate, Theresa “Tip” Parker, a 1974 graduate, and Llyn Lloyd, a 1960 graduate, were recognized for their outstanding career accomplishments and their contributions to ONU.

“We are extremely honored to recognize these distinguished alumni for their significant contributions to the profession of pharmacy,” said Dr. Jon Sprague, dean of the College of Pharmacy. “These individuals have helped build the proud tradition and excellence Ohio Northern’s pharmacy college has gained in its more than 125-year history.”
While at ONU, Watts was a member of the pharmacy academic society, Rho Chi Society, and the recipient of the L.K. Darbaker Prize, the Julius Rogoff Foundation Prize and the Higuchi Award. After graduating from Northern, Watts earned his Ph.D. in pharmacology in 1994 from the University of North Carolina. He next became a post-doctoral fellow at the Portland VA Medical Center and Oregon Health & Science University, both in Portland, Ore. His main focus in research was dopamine receptors, G-proteins, and Adenylyl Cyclase signaling. He remained in Oregon until 1998 when his career led him to Purdue University in West Lafayette, Ind. He remains there today and is a professor of medicinal chemistry and molecular pharmacology and the associate dean of research. He is a published author of many peer-reviewed research articles and has received millions of dollars in federal funding towards his research in Parkinson’s disease, schizophrenia and drug abuse.
At ONU, Parker was a member of the Alpha Omicron Pi fraternity and the professional pharmacy fraternity, Kappa Epsilon. She was on the Panhellenic Council and the Panhellenic Judicial Board, a member of the Student National Pharmaceutical Association, and a resident assistant. After graduating from ONU, Parker spent 18 months in retail pharmacy. She then became assistant manager, manager of prescription services, and, finally, director of pharmacy systems and technology at Gray Drug Company in Cleveland, Ohio.
In 1989, she became senior merchandise manager of pharmaceuticals at Fox Meyer Drug Company in Carrollton, Texas,where she remained until 1992 when began with her current employer, Abbott Laboratories in Abbott Park, Ill. She currently is director of trade relations and operations for Abbott’s Pharmaceutical Products Division. Parker has been involved in the National Association of Chain Drug Stores, American Pharmacists Association, Pharmacy Benefit Managers Association, the National Community Pharmacists Association, the American Society of Consultant Pharmacists, and the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists. She also served on the board of directors for the National Wholesale Druggist Association Service Corporation.
While a student at Ohio Northern, Lloyd was involved with the football and track teams, the Student American Pharmacists Association, choir, and Sigma Phi Epsilon. He was listed in two different “Who’s Who” publications: “Who’s Who in Colleges and Universities” and “Who’s Who in America – Western Edition.” After graduating, he spent a year in Danville, Ohio, before moving to Idaho in 1961. In 1962, he was a sales representative for Merck, Sharp, & Dohme.
Lloyd and his father purchased Arco Rexall Drug Store in Arco, Idaho, in 1963. He spent 13 years working and operating the store before selling the establishment and moving to Boise, Idaho, to work for the Boise VA Medical Center as a pharmacist. During this time, he served as chairman of continuing education, secretary-treasurer, vice president, and president of the Idaho State Pharmacy Association. He received the A.H. Robins Bowl of Hygeia award in 1973. In the community, Lloyd was active with the Chamber of Commerce (serving as president for one year), the Butte County American Cross, the Challis National Forest Advisory Board, and the Southeast Idaho Comprehensive Health Planning Committee.
In 1980, he was appointed to the Idaho State Board of Pharmacy. During this time, he completed his master’s degree at Boise State University. He became the executive director for the Idaho State Board of Pharmacy in 1982 and then the executive director of the Arizona State Board of Pharmacy in 1986. He was elected vice president of the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy Committee (NABP) in 1990. In 1991, he served a one-year term as NABP president-elect before being selected president. In 1993, the NABP selected Lloyd to become the Executive Committee chairman.
Lloyd received the American Pharmaceutical Association and the Academy of Pharmacy Practice and Management Merit Award in 1995 for his advocacy on a national level for recovery support and re-entry programs. In 2003, he retired as the executive director of the Arizona State Board of Pharmacy.