Skip To Main Content
Skip To Main Content

Law Faculty Recognized at Honors Banquet

ChristoffThe ONU College of Law held its annual honors banquet on April 14, 2010.

Academic honors were presented as well as awards for Law Review, Moot Court and Student Bar Association. Several faculty members were recognized.

Professor John H. Martin was recognized with the Fowler V. Harper Faculty Scholarship Award. A faculty committee made the selection based on contributions to legal scholarship during the current year. This is the first time Martin has received the award.

HillProfessor Kevin D. Hill was recognized with the Teaching Excellence Award. The award is based on student evaluations for overall teaching effectiveness for the prior two semesters and/or nominations from the faculty. This is the fourth time Hill has received the award since its inception in 1990.

Professor John P. Christoff was selected for the Ella A. & Ernest H. Fisher Chair in Law. Appointment to the Fisher Chair is recognition of singular achievement as a legal educator. Because the selection is made by colleagues, based primarily on sustained excellence in legal scholarship and teaching, the appointment reflects the highest recognition the college of law has to offer to a member of its faculty.

MartinNicholas Laudato was recognized by the Student Bar Association with its Liberty Bell Award in  recognition for outstanding law community service.

John P. Christoff, professor of law, was honored by the Student Bar Association with the most effective teacher award, which recognizes the professor who, in the students' view, has been the most effective teacher.

Karen Elliott, adjunct professor of law, was recognized by the Student Bar Association with the faculty appreciation award.

KamataliJean-Marie Kamatali, assistant director of LLM and visiting assistant professor of law, was recognized by Law Review with its Dean Daniel S. Guy Award for Excellence in Legal Journalism.

Sherry Young, professor of law, was recognized by Moot Court with its outstanding team advisor of the year award.Young