Skip To Main Content
Skip To Main Content

Mechanical Engineering Students Present Research

moneyONU mechanical engineering students joined graduate students and aerospace research and design engineers in making presentations at the 35th AIAA Dayton-Cincinnati Aerospace Sciences Symposium (DCASS).

The symposium, sponsored by the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) and the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), is an opportunity for technical interchange between members of the regional aerospace community.  The ONU AIAA student section served as co-sponsor of the event.

Members of ONU’s Computational Fluid Dynamics (CFD) class from the mechanical engineering department presented their research projects from the winter quarter at DCASS.  This year, ONU was represented by 28 students giving 13 technical presentations. The ONU topics ranged from the drag characteristics of a human-powered vehicle to the aerodynamic performance of a radio-controlled model aircraft, and even the aerodynamic analysis of flow about a spinning golf disc.

A total of approximately 200 presentations were given at the one-day symposium, covering all general areas of aerospace science and technology, including fluid dynamics, propulsion, materials, structures, controls, avionics, sensors, human factors, combustion, fuels, turbomachinery and power.

ONU students taking part in the symposium were:

Luisa Chinchilla, a senior from North Olmsted, Ohio

Luke A. Feeney, a senior from Rawson, Ohio

Kenneth D. Fisher, a senior from Crooksville, Ohio

Loren M. Fleischman, a senior from Springfield, Ohio

Nathan D. Gannon, a senior from Ada, Ohio

Brent M. Hiser, a senior from Gibsonburg, Ohio

Eric D. Holbrook, a senior from Wapakoneta, Ohio

Joshua S. Horn, a senior from Franklin, Ohio

Michael P. Johnson, a senior from Mount Pleasant, Pa.

Christopher M. LaBenne, a senior from Mount Vernon, Ohio

Peter A. Langenkamp, a senior from Coldwater, Ohio

Nicholas J. Mascia, a senior from Pickerington, Ohioscheiber

Robert D. Money, a senior from Lima, Ohio

William E. Neidinger, a senior from Broadview Heights, Ohio

James R. Northrup, a senior from Sugar Land, Texas

Janet E. Ondrake, a senior from Richmond Heights, Ohio

Drew A. Robinson, a senior from Columbus, Ohio

Maxwell A. Rothacker, a senior from North Ridgeville, Ohio

Philip J. Schneider, a senior from Wapakoneta, Ohio

Jeffrey A. Schulte, a senior from Genoa, Ohio

Smith, Patrick C. Smith, a senior from Loveland, Ohio

Kyle A. Smyntek, a senior from Willoughby, Ohio

Jonathan E. Sweaney, a senor from Westerville, Ohio

James R. Taylor, a senior from Saint Paris, Ohio

Scott B. Underwood, a senior from Lakeville, Ohio

David M. Walters, a senior from Circleville, Ohio

Eric T. Young, a senior from New Paris, Pa.

The CFD course is taught by Dr. Jed E. Marquart, who is an associate fellow of the AIAA. In addition to bringing his CFD class to the symposium, Marquart also chaired a technical session on the topic of Applied Computational Fluid Dynamics.