Skip To Main Content
Skip To Main Content

ONU Honors Distinguished Pharmacy Alumni

Nov 16, 2009
Dr. Sprague and Robert McCurdyOhio Northern University's Raabe College of Pharmacy honored two alumni with Distinguished Alumni Awards on Nov 5.

Robert McCurdy and Albert Sebok were recognized for their outstanding career accomplishments and their contributions to ONU.

"We are very honored to recognize these distinguished alumni," said Dr. Jon Sprague, dean of the College of Pharmacy. "These individuals laid the foundation for the proud tradition and excellence College of Pharmacy has gained in its 125-year history."

McCurdy graduated from ONU in 1965 with a Bachelor of Science in pharmacy. While a student, he was a member of the Sigma Pi social fraternity, student senate and Phi Delta Chi, of which he also served as advisor for many years. He began his pharmacy career in 1974 accepting a position at Red Shield Drug in Pittsburgh, Pa.. McCurdy also worked with Giant Eagle Markets and became the director of pharmacy of Phar-Mor Inc. in Youngstown, Ohio, where he served as vice president. He served as a member of ONU's Board of Trustees prior to returning as the assistant vice president of development and director of corporate foundation giving in 1996. Since 1997, he has served as the assistant dean and instructor in ONU's College of Pharmacy and is responsible for student affairs and admission to the college. He is a member of the Ohio Pharmacists Association and the Northwest Ohio Pharmacy Association and is on the advisory board for Managed Care On-Line.
Dr. Sprague and Albert Sebok
Sebok graduated from ONU in 1953 with a Bachelor of Science in pharmacy. While attending ONU, he was involved with the Kappa Psi fraternity. A Cleveland native, he joined Standard Drug as a store manager after graduation. In 1961, Revco acquired Standard, and Sebok began his rise in store operations, culminating in his appointment in 1971 as senior vice president for store operations of Revco DrugStores Inc. Under his leadership, Revco became the largest discount drug chain in America with more than 2,000 stores. Sebok served as an original member of ONU's Pharmacy Advisory Board and was the founder and instructor of the college's contemporary pharmacy practice class. As one of the most generous of ONU's alumni, he is a life member of the Henry Solomon Lehr Society, a society that acknowledges Northern's donors at the highest level of giving. Most recently, fellow alumni established the Sebok Pharmacy Lecture in his honor, which will bring leaders in the pharmacy profession to Ohio Northern to share their experiences with ONU students.

This is the third year that Distinguished Alumni Awards have been presented by the Raabe College of Pharmacy.