Skip To Main Content
Skip To Main Content

Wind Orchestra presents 'Wind Music of Yesterday and Today'

Oct 14, 2009
Wind MusicThe Ohio Northern University Wind Orchestra presents "Wind Music of Yesterday and Today" at the Freed Center for Performing Arts on Saturday, Nov. 7, at 8 p.m. A pre-show discussion is at 7:15 p.m.

"Wind Music of Yesterday and Today" includes works of the early 20th-century British masters Gordon Jacob and Percy Grainger, along with contemporary works by Philip Sparkes and Richard Rodney Bennett.

Alfred Reed's arrangement of "Nimrod" from Edward Elgar's "Enigma Variations," Robert Reynolds arrangement of Morten Lauridsen's "O Magnum Mysterium" and JoaquĆ­n Rodrigo's "Adagio for Wind Orchestra" represent three of the most beautiful compositions in the entire wind band repertoire. They provide a moving contrast to John Corigliano's sprightly "Gazebo Dance" and Vincent Persichetti's brilliant "Divertimento for Band."

Tickets are $15 for general admission, $12 for seniors and non-ONU students, and $9 for children. The Freed Center box office is open Monday through Friday from noon to 5 p.m. and Saturdays from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Phone orders are accepted with American Express, MasterCard, VISA or Discover by calling 419-772-1900. Tickets are also available online at
Related Northern News
Latest Video
Latest Photo Feature