Skip To Main Content

Engineering Students Awarded Scholarships

Five ONU engineering students were recently awarded scholarships by the Ohio Space Grant Consortium (OSGC). These scholarships are funded through the OSGC by NASA and are intended to encourage engineering students to enter the aerospace field.

The three junior scholars will receive $3,000 each for the 2009-10 academic year and will be eligible to continue as senior scholars. The two senior scholars, who served previously as junior scholars, will each receive $4,000 for the 2009-10 academic year. As a requirement of the scholarship, each student will initiate and complete a research project in the field of aerospace engineering under the supervision of an ONU faculty mentor. They will then present that research at the OSGC Student Research Project Symposium in the spring of 2010.

The three junior scholars are: Jeffrey Carter, mechanical engineering major from Wilmington, Ohio, David Rogers, mechanical engineering major from Cincinnati, Ohio, and Chris Slattery, mechanical engineering major from Mt. Pleasant, Pa.

The senior scholars are: Bailey Blake, mechanical engineering major from Strongsville, Ohio, and Sean Lemke, mechanical engineering major from Pickerington, Ohio. Their faculty mentor is Dr. Jed E. Marquart, who serves on the executive committee for the OSGC.