Skip To Main Content
Skip To Main Content

APhA-ASP Chapter Wins National Award

Apr 9, 2009
Ohio Northern University's American Pharmacist Association Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA-ASP) chapter won the 2008 National Patient Care Award in the Heartburn Awareness Challenge at the annual APhA national conference in San Antonio, Texas, on April 3-4.

ONU captured top honors against 69 APhA-ASP pharmacy chapters competing in a patient care project. The award is based on originality, level of student participation, level of collaboration with other campus organizations and overall impact of heartburn education on the public health of the local community.

Dr. Kristen Finley, assistant professor of pharmacy practice and chapter advisor, said, "Participating in such events gives students the opportunity to learn how to properly counsel patients and improve overall communication skills. This challenge has positively impacted our student pharmacists, patients in the community and the overall profession of pharmacy."

The ONU chapter has held events to screen and counsel patients about heartburn. Students traveled to small communities throughout west central Ohio to host events at a wide range of venues, including assisted living homes, community pharmacies and community centers. The ONU chapter also took their heartburn project overseas. Fourteen ONU pharmacy students collaborated with Ohio University for a mission trip to Kenya, Africa, in November and December 2008. The students counseled and provided donated medications to more than 400 people with heartburn in Kenya.

Samantha Cunningham, a fifth-year pharmacy student from Adena, Ohio, served as the chairman of the committee. Co-chair members were Krysten Bucholtz, a third-year pharmacy student from Garfield Heights, Ohio; Melissa Negro, a third-year pharmacy student from North Huntingdon, Pa.; Erin Rhodes, a fourth-year pharmacy student from Swanton, Md.; Ryan Naseman, a fourth-year pharmacy student from Anna, Ohio; Monica Weisenberger, a fourth-year pharmacy student from Columbus, Ohio; and Sarah Antloga, a fourth-year student from Ada, Ohio.