Skip To Main Content

Professors Receive Certification

Karen Kier, BSPH '82, Ph.D., professor of clinical pharmacy, has earned the designation of Board Certified Pharmacotherapy Specialist (BCPS) from the Board of Pharmaceutical Specialists. This is pharmacy's highest credential in the practice of pharmacotherapy.

Through board certification, pharmacotherapy specialists demonstrate a defined level of education and training, as well as mastery of the knowledge and skills necessary to meet the public's demand for expert pharmaceutical care.

Shane Martin, Pharm.D., assistant clinical professor of pharmacy practice, is now a Board Certified Psychiatric Pharmacist (BCPP).

The Board of Pharmaceutical Specialties was organized in 1976 as an independent certification agency of American Pharmacists Association (APhA) in response to changes in health care and pharmacy. It identifies and recognizes critical specialty practice areas, sets standards for certification, objectively evaluates individuals seeking certification, and acts as an information resource and coordinating agency for pharmacy specialties.

The board recognizes five specialty practice areas: pharmacotherapy, nuclear pharmacy, nutrition support pharmacy, oncology pharmacy, and psychiatric pharmacy.