Skip To Main Content

ONU men's volleyball team captures national title

Apr 18, 2007
The Ohio Northern University men's volleyball team was crowned national champions after defeating Providence (Canada) 25-22, 25-15 in the Division II finals at the National Intramural-Recreational Sports Association championships in Louisville, Ky., on April 12-14.

ONU, which finished as runner-ups in 2004, went 9-0 over the weekend to secure the title. The Polar Bears defeated Plymouth State (New Hampshire) 25-17, 25-12; Bethel (Minnesota) 25-6, 25-8, UW-La Crosse 25-17, 25-17, Geneseo (New York) 25-16, 25-19, Georgetown (Washington D.C.) 25-15, 25-14, Messiah (Pennsylvania) 25-22, 25-18, and UW-Eau Claire 31-33, 25-20, 15-13.

Ryan Zettle, a second-year pharmacy major out of Wheatfield, New York, was tabbed Most Valuable Player of the tournament. Steven Wright, a senior sports management major out of Middletown, Ohio was named to the first team, all-tournament squad and David Millward, a senior mechanical engineering major from Beavercreek was selected first team, all-tournament setter. Cullen McChristian, a first year pharmacy major from Park Ridge, Illinois, and Nate Staudt, a junior mechanical engineering major from Fairfield, Ohio were named to the second-team, all tournament squad.

The club team, coached by Brian Hofman, finished with an overall mark of 43-11 and was All-Ohio champions for the fifth time and fourth year in a row. The team was also Great Men's Midwest Volleyball conference regular season champions and had wins over Division I rivals Michigan, Ohio State, Indiana, Miami, Ohio U., Bowling Green StateUniversity and Cincinnati. This marked ONU's seventh top 10 finish in 12 years of attending the national championship.