Skip To Main Content

SME students receive merit and scholarship awards

Mar 26, 2007

Three students in the Ohio Northern University chapter of the Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME) received the Society of Manufacturing Engineers Merit/Scholarship Award for the 2007-2008 academic year.

Brett Kuhn, a junior technology major from Tiffin, Ohio, was the recipient of a $750 scholarship. Matthew Myers, a senior technology major from Murrysville, Penn., and Collin Swick, a sophomore technology major from Delphos, Ohio both received a $500 scholarship.

The ONU chapter of SME provides these merit and scholarship awards, which are financed by the chapter's fundraising activities and through contributions from the Lima SME chapter.

Award recipients must be student members of ONU's chapter of SME and maintain a minimum 2.5 cumulative GPA. Applicants were reviewed based on the member's participation within the chapter, scholastic achievement and financial need.

Full-time faculty members in the ONU department of technology studies served on the awards selection committee.

The Society of Manufacturing Engineers is the world's leading professional society supporting manufacturing education. Through its member programs, publications, expositions, and professional development resources, SME promotes an increased awareness of manufacturing engineering and helps keep manufacturing professionals up to date on leading trends and technologies. Headquartered in Michigan, SME influences more than half a million manufacturing engineers and executives annually. The Society has members in 70 countries and is supported by a network of hundreds of chapters worldwide.

Related Northern News
Latest Video
Latest Photo Feature