Skip To Main Content

Robertson, O’Brien each add two titles as MTrack finishes second at OAC Track Championships

April 26, 2008

By Gary Petit

WILMINGTON - Senior Ryan Robertson and junior Jimmy O'Brien each won two more individual titles to lead the Ohio Northern men's track & field team to a second place finish at the 2008 Ohio Athletic Conference Outdoor Track & Field Championships.

Northern finished with 162.5 team points. Mount Union claimed the OAC Title with 183 total points. The Student Princes of Heidelberg finished third with 107 points and Baldwin-Wallace was fourth at 83.

Robertson won the 100-meter dash (10.93) and 200-meter dash (22.15) titles in addition to his long jump title Friday night. O'Brien captured the 800-meter (1.54.10) and 1,500-meter titles (3:56.45) Saturday and was part of the winning 4x800-meter relay team Friday. For their efforts, Robertson was named the Harrison Dillard Male Sprinter of the Meet and O'Brien was named the Jim Wuske Male Distance Runner of the Meet.

The 100-meter title was the first of Robertson's career and the 200-meter win was his second, as he defended his crown from one year ago. He now has won 10 OAC Titles in his career.

O'Brien won his third-striaght 800-meter title and his second-straight 1,500-meter crown. The junior has claimed 13 OAC Titles in his career, one shy of Matt Wolf's 14 for the most in school history.

Robertson also ran the first leg of the 4x100-meter relay team that ran a solid race and was nipped at the line by Heidelberg. The team of Robertson, Ryan Fleming, Justin Linzy and Julian Horn crossed the line in 42.17, just .05 seconds behind The Berg at 42.12.

Freshman Jacob Fox earned All-OAC honors in the 110-meter hurdles with a third place finish in a time of 15.12. He also finished 8th in the 400-meter hurdles in 58.18 to go along with his fifth place finish in the long jump Friday night.

Linzy picked up a pair of fourth place finishes in the 100- and 200-meter dashes. He was the top qualifier in the 100-meter dash at 10.90 but ran an 11.08 in the finals. In the 200, he crossed the line in a time of 22.52.

Freshman Drew Knigga and sophomore Alan Bowsher were the only other Polar Bears to earn All-OAC honors. Knigga turned in a season-best leap of 6-4.25 to finish second in the high jump to earn his first career All-OAC honors.

Bowsher claimed his third All-OAC honors with a third place finish in the 5,000-meter run in a time of 15.31.55.

Freshman Timothy Yeh jumped a season-best 42-3.25 to finish fourth in the triple jump.

The Polar Bears return home to host the Joe Banks Invitational next weekend, May 2-3 at the ONU Track & Field Complex.