Skip To Main Content

Pharmacy professor receives Albert E. Rosica Jr. Memorial Award

Aug 26, 2015

Deirdre “Dee Dee” Myers, Ohio Northern University pharmacy and laboratory instructor, was presented the 2014-15 Albert E. Rosica Jr. Memorial award by the American College of Apothecaries (ACA) at the College’s 2015 Annual Education Conference in Denver on Aug. 14.

This award, established in memory of Albert E. Rosica Jr., a past president of the ACA, is presented in recognition of outstanding contributions to pharmacy education.

After Myers graduated from Ohio Northern University in 1983, she began practicing pharmacy at a community pharmacy that she and her husband, Randy, still own. Myers also is the treasurer of Harry’s Pharmacy Inc.

Realizing that her passion was education, Myers made the leap into academia and returned to her alma mater as a pharmaceutics laboratory instructor in 2000. She has taken on numerous projects in her current role, including teaching Geriatric Pharmacotherapy, Advanced Compounding and Business Plan Development. She also is the advisor for ONU’s student chapter of the National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA). Through her guidance and leadership, the team recently was awarded 2014-15 Chapter of the Year status. The ONU NCPA team also earned a $500 scholarship for its record-breaking attendance at the 2015 NCPA Legislative Day this past May.

Dr. Steven J. Martin, dean of the Raabe College of Pharmacy, said, “Myers is a tremendous asset to our program, and a great mentor for our students. The American College of Apothecaries bestows this award to one pharmacy practitioner across the country in acknowledgement of his or her contributions to pharmacy education. What an honor it is for the Raabe College of Pharmacy to have professor Myers on our faculty.”