Skip To Main Content

ONU Symphony Orchestra presents 'From South to North of the Border'

Feb 5, 2008

The Ohio Northern University Symphony Orchestra explores the issue of Mexican migration and immigration in "From South to North of the Border" on Saturday, Feb. 9, at 8 p.m. in the Freed Center for the Performing Arts.

The event will feature the world premier performance of "Another American Dream" by Mexican composer Armando Carado Judd. Specially commissioned by ONU, this 18-minute symphony follows the life of a young Mexican man who decides to cross the border to pursue a better life for his family.

Judd is a violinist with the San Luis Potosi Symphony Orchestra in San Luis Potosi, Mexico. He has written and produced music for seven plays, including "La Pira," "Belice" and "Cantina La Conquista," and has written the score for two short films. Judd studied composition with the Mexican composer Ramon Montes de Oca and arranging at the Berklee College of Music Extension School. He was awarded with a scholarship from FECA (Fondo Estatal para la Cultura y las Artes) for individual development in the field of composition.

In addition, "From South to North of the Border" will feature guest conductor Julio de Santiago Castillo conducting three traditional Mexican pieces. Castillo is the director and conductor for the Julian Carrillo Youth and Children's Orchestra in San Luis Potosi, Mexico.

ONU's 85-piece Symphony Orchestra also will perform music from Dvorak's "Symphony No. 9, in E Minor ‘From the New World,'" which was inspired by his trip to the United States in the late 1800s.

Tickets are $15 for general admission, $12 for seniors and students, $9 for children, and $5 for ONU students. The Freed Center box office is open Monday through Friday from noon to 5 p.m. and Saturdays from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Phone orders are accepted with MasterCard, VISA or Discover by calling (419) 772-1900.

Related Northern News
Latest Video
Latest Photo Feature