Skip To Main Content

ONU Raabe College of Pharmacy Honors Distinguished Alumni

Sep 9, 2008
Three alumni of Ohio Northern University's Raabe College of Pharmacy will be honored with Distinguished Alumni Awards at a banquet in the McIntosh Center faculty and staff dining room on Thursday, Sept. 11, at 5 p.m.

This is the second year that Distinguished Alumni Awards have been presented by the ONU Raabe College of Pharmacy.

Vern H. Hakes, R.Ph., Charles R. Brading, R.Ph., and James E. Turner, R.Ph., are being recognized for their outstanding career accomplishments and their contributions to ONU.

"We are very honored to recognize these three distinguished alumni," said Dr. Jon Sprague, dean of the College of Pharmacy. "These individuals laid the foundation for the proud tradition and excellence the pharmacy college has gained in its 125-year history."

Hakes graduated from ONU in 1933 with a degree in pharmaceutical chemistry. While in school, he was a member of Rho Chi, a national pharmacy honor society. He joined Eli Lilly in 1939 as a medical service representative, advanced to district manager in 1954, became director of marketing and planning for the company's international division in 1954, and assumed the vice presidency in 1965. Hakes continued his relationship with Ohio Northern as president of the Alumni Association, a member of ONU's Heritage Club, and a lifetime member of both the Lehr Society and ONU's Board of Trustees. ONU honored Hakes with an honorary doctorate in 1976 and the Distinguished Alumni award in 2005. In addition, Hakes provided generous funding for the addition to the pharmacy building.

Brading was a member of the American Students of Pharmacy while in school. After graduating with a pharmacy degree in 1957, he enlisted in the Army. He returned to Wapakoneta, Ohio and practiced pharmacy in his family's store for 33 years. During this time, he became active in politics and served as mayor and a member of city council. He was elected to the Ohio House of Representatives 86th District and served from 1991 to 2000. In the House, he served as chair of the education committee and a member of the health, retirement, and aging committee, Veteran's Affairs committee, and rules and reference committee. He also was a member of the Ohio Board of Pharmacy for eight years, serving as president from 1979-80. Brading has received numerous pharmacy awards, including the Bowl of Hygeia Award, Retailer of the Year, the Merck, Sharp and Dohme Award, and the Beal Award. He received ONU's Distinguished Alumni Award in 1993.

Turner graduated from ONU in 1963 with a degree in pharmacy. While attending ONU, he was a member of Rho Chi. He practiced pharmacy in Newark, Ohio, and worked as a sales representative for Eli Lilly before returning to Ada and purchasing Gardner's Drug Store. Shortly after, Turner joined the faculty of the Raabe College of Pharmacy as the pharmacist of the model pharmacy and developed the college's externship program. He was the advisor for Phi Lambda Sigma, a pharmacy honorary fraternity, and served as treasurer for the Ohio Pharmacist's Association and president for the Board of Pharmacy. In the community, Turner served on the Hardin County Health Board, the Ada Area Chamber of Commerce and the Liberty Bankshares Board.