Skip To Main Content

ONU holds President’s Leadership Dessert

May 11, 2016

Ohio Northern University celebrated ONU student leaders and organizations during the President’s Leadership Dessert on April 27.

The Debow Freed Award for Outstanding Student Leadership was presented to one male and one female from each undergraduate class. Students are nominated for the award in recognition of their positive leadership in the campus community. They receive a monetary award, and their names are added to a plaque in McIntosh Center.

First-year awards went to Elizabeth Olah, a molecular biology major from Mentor, Ohio, and Derek Price, a political science major from Howell, N.J.

Second-year honors went to Rebecca Newton, a music education major from New Knoxville, Ohio, and Zachary Goodchild, a risk management and insurance major from Pickerington, Ohio.

Third-year awards went to Molly Wheeler, a pharmacy major from Sylvania, Ohio, and Brendan Graziano, a chemistry major from Wickliffe, Ohio.

Fourth-year honors went to Taryn Stromback, a pharmaceutical business major from Maple Grove, Minn., and Austin Hilverding, a pharmacy major from Waterford, Ohio.

Six Alice-Kay Hilderbrand awards also were presented. The Student Organization of the Year was Colleges Against Cancer, and the Outstanding Community Service Award went to Alpha Phi Omega. Phi Gamma Delta (for Phi Gamma Melta) collected the Outstanding Event of the Year Award, and Phi Mu Delta received the Greek Organization of the Year Award. The Student Planning Committee received the Polar Pride Award, and the National Community Pharmacists Association received the Outstanding Programming Award.

The Campus Organizations Committee of ONU’s Student Senate created the Alice-Kay Hilderbrand awards in spring 2002. It recognizes the outstanding and exceptional leadership of individual student organizations at ONU that have made positive contributions to the campus community.

The President’s Leadership Dessert is planned by the Office of Student Involvement and Omicron Delta Kappa, the national leadership honorary.