Skip To Main Content
Skip To Main Content

Ohio Northern University Symphony Orchestra opens season with performance of ‘Nature’

Oct 7, 2014

Ohio Northern University’s Freed Center for the Performing Arts presents the Ohio Northern University Symphony Orchestra with a performance of “Nature” on Saturday, Oct. 18, at 7:30 p.m.

Works include “Die Moldau” by Bedřich Smetana, “Rusty Air in Carolina” for orchestra and electronica by living composer Mason Bates, and Beethoven’s Symphony No. 6 (“Pastorale”). The electronica part for “Rusty Air in Carolina” will be played on a laptop by Sarah Waters, associate professor of music and percussion instructor at ONU. The electronica part will include unique sounds that are rarely heard in conjunction with an orchestra.

Travis Jürgens, currently in his debut season as music director of the ONU Symphony Orchestra, will conduct this program. Jürgens earned his degrees from the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music, the University of Illinois, and the Lamont School of Music at the University of Denver. He is a winner of the American Prize in Orchestral Conducting and has conducted the Colorado and Alabama Symphony Orchestras, among others. Jürgens has performed in the United States, Europe and Japan. He has been praised as “a superior conductor” and “well on his way to becoming a major conductor in the world of symphony orchestras” (Opus Colorado). He has worked with esteemed conductors, including Michael Tilson Thomas and Marin Alsop.

Tickets for this event are $15 for adults, $12 for seniors, $10 for ONU faculty and staff, and $5 for ONU students. The Freed Center box office is open Monday through Friday from noon to 5 p.m., and Saturday from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Phone orders are accepted with American Express, MasterCard, VISA or Discover by calling 419-772-1900. Tickets also are available online at

Related Northern News
Latest Video
Latest Photo Feature