Skip To Main Content

Ohio Northern University students win 2010 Innovation Chase competition

May 6, 2010

A team of students from Ohio Northern University’s James F. Dicke College of Business Administration and T.J. Smull College of Engineering won the 2010 Illinois Institute of Technology’s Innovation Chase on Friday, April 3.

The competition focused on a product-development problem. Teams prepared project plans, idea pitches, ethnographic studies and prototypes before making a final team presentation. Each winning team member was awarded $500.

ONU defeated teams from the University of Illinois-Chicago, Illinois Institute of Technology (IIT), University of Detroit/Mercy, the Milwaukee School of Engineering and the graduate program at IIT’s Institute of Design. The competition was sponsored by the Wrigley Company and the Kern Family Foundation’s KEEN Program and held at the Wrigley Innovation Center in Chicago.

Josh Koza, a junior management major from Fairview Park, Ohio, and Scott Bauman, a freshman mechanical engineering major from Napoleon, Ohio, were the leaders of the winning team.

Andrea Meers, a freshman accounting major from Lodi, Ohio, Greg Shanefelt, a junior marketing major from Latrobe, Pa., and Jeff West, sophomore mechanical engineering major from Wooster, Ohio, also represented ONU in the competition. Professor Daniel Ferguson, assistant professor of entrepreneurship, accompanied the team to Chicago.