Skip To Main Content

Ohio Northern University honors student leaders, organizations at President’s Leadership Dessert

May 6, 2015

Ohio Northern University celebrated ONU student leaders and their accomplishments during the President’s Leadership Dessert on April 29.

The DeBow Freed Awards for Outstanding Leadership as an Undergraduate Student were presented to one male and one female from each year on campus. Students are nominated for the award in recognition of their positive leadership in the campus community. They receive a monetary award, and their names are added to a plaque in McIntosh Center.

First-year awards went to Ashley Mast, a biology major from Apple Creek, Ohio, and Kenneth Barga, a pharmacy major from Burkettsville, Ohio.

Second-year honors went to Julya Faulkner, an accounting major from Cardington, Ohio, and Shawn Stevens, a music education major from Lima, Ohio.

Third-year awards went to Kristen McKell, a political science/criminal justice/sociology major from Chillicothe, Ohio, and Alan Mehlow, a management major from Fremont, Ohio.

Fourth-year honors went to Elizabeth Lendrum, a biology major from Shreve, Ohio, and Joseph Railey, a history/political science major from Muncie, Indiana.

Seven Alice-Kay Hilderbrand Student Awards were also presented. The student organization of the year was the Student Planning Committee, and the outstanding community service award went to Habitat for Humanity. College Against Cancer collected the outstanding event of the year award for Relay for Life, and Phi Gamma Delta received the outstanding Greek organization award. Rounding out the organization awards, Phi Mu Delta garnered the outstanding new organization of the year award, and the Good News Bears received the polar pride award. The American Society of Consultant Pharmacists received the outstanding programming award.

Related Northern News
Related Majors
Latest Video
Latest Photo Feature