Skip To Main Content

NCPA chapter receives Dennis Ludwig Memorial Scholarship in Government Affairs

Jun 2, 2016

The Ohio Northern University Raabe College of Pharmacy chapter of the National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA) received the Dennis Ludwig Memorial Scholarship in Government Affairs for having the highest student attendance at the annual Congressional Pharmacy Summit in Washington, D.C. The award, given to help alleviate travel costs, was presented on Tuesday, May 24, 2016.

This year, ONU brought 15 students to the conference, which is a platform for hundreds of community pharmacists to visit the nation’s capital to advocate for community pharmacies and their patients. ONU tied with Auburn University for this year’s honor.

“As the immediate past-president of the ONU NCPA chapter, it is a true honor to see my colleagues so involved as we participate in activities on the national level,” said Tyler Siefring, a sixth-year pharmacy major from Coldwater, Ohio. “This scholarship will help to ensure that we can to continue to bring students in the future.”

Founded in 1898, the NCPA represents America’s community pharmacists, including the owners of more than 22,000 pharmacies. The nation’s community pharmacies, pharmacy franchises and regional chains dispense nearly half of the nation’s retail prescription medications.