Skip To Main Content

Ohio Northern Symphony: Black History and Brahms

Sunday, February 25, 2018 - 7:00pm
Freed Center: Biggs Theatre

Ohio Northern Symphony

Black History and Brahms

In recognition of Black History Month, the Ohio Northern Symphony will present William Grant Still’s Symphony No. 1: the Afro American Symphony and The Passion of John Brown by Ohio composer Jesse Ayers. Ayers was the winner of the inaugural American Prize for Orchestral Composition in 2011 and was named an “Honored Artist” of the American Prize in 2014. Since 1997, Ayers has served on the music faculty of Malone University.

The program also features guest violinist Stanislav Pronin on Brahms’ Violin Concerto in D Major. A violinist and composer, Pronin was born in Moscow, Russia, and began his violin studies upon his immigration to Israel at the age of 8. Pronin’s professional career began following his solo debut in Israel at the age of 10. He has performed as soloist and chamber musician at many festivals and venues.

The Ohio Northern Symphony is a hybrid orchestra comprised of a highly select group of students, faculty and professionals. The symphony performs at least four programs a year, and enrollment is open, by way of audition, to all University students regardless of major.

$20 - Adults
$10 - Seniors
$5 - Students/Children

Purchase Tickets

Freed Center for the Performing Arts

Freed Center Box Office

Fax: 419-772-1856
Freed Center for the Performing Arts
525 South Main Street
Ada, Ohio 45810
12 p.m.-5 p.m.
12 p.m.-5 p.m.
12 p.m.-5 p.m.
12 p.m.-5 p.m.
12 p.m.-5 p.m.
10 a.m.-2 p.m.