Skip To Main Content

Ohio Northern Symphony: "Pines and Mountains"

Saturday, October 15, 2016 - 8:15pm
Freed Center: Biggs Theatre

Ohio Northern Symphony: "Pines and Mountains"

“Pines and Mountains” will include the John Williams Signature Edition of "Jurassic Park," Jeff Midkiff’s mandolin concerto "From the Blue Ridge," Edvard Grieg’s "Peer Gynt Suite No. 1," and "Pines of Rome" by Ottorino Respighi. Midkiff is the composer and soloist for his concerto for mandolin and orchestra, “From the Blue Ridge.” It was composed in 2011 in a commission from Music Director David Stewart Wiley and the Roanoke Symphony Orchestra. The first performance was opening night of the Roanoke Symphony Orchestra's fall 2011 season, and the concerto has subsequently been performed with the Rochester Philharmonic, the Shreveport Symphony, and the Williamsburg Symphonia and the Northwest Florida Symphony, Boulder Philharmonic and the Symphony of Southeast Texas, Beaumont. More information on the piece is available at

The Ohio Northern Symphony is a hybrid orchestra comprised of a highly select group of students, faculty and professionals. The symphony performs at least four programs a year, and enrollment is open, by way of audition, to all University students regardless of major.

$20 – Adults
$15 – Faculty/Staff
$10 – Seniors
$5 – Students/Children

Purchase tickets online through our website or call the Freed Center Box Office at 419-772-1900.

Freed Center for the Performing Arts

Freed Center Box Office

Fax: 419-772-1856
Freed Center for the Performing Arts
525 South Main Street
Ada, Ohio 45810
12 p.m.-5 p.m.
12 p.m.-5 p.m.
12 p.m.-5 p.m.
12 p.m.-5 p.m.
12 p.m.-5 p.m.
10 a.m.-2 p.m.