Skip To Main Content

2017 Homecoming

Date and Time: 
Friday, September 22, 2017 - 1:00pm to Sunday, September 24, 2017 - 2:00pm
Event Location: 
525 South Main Street, Ada, OH 45810
Event Category: 
Alumni
Homecoming
Event Audience: 
Public


Bringing Memories Out of the Shadows

Friday, Sept. 22 – Sunday, Sept. 24

Register by Sept. 15!

The main registration area will be open on Saturday, Sept. 23, in the King Horn Field House from 8 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. Bracelets for meals, the inflatable activities and the football game are available for purchase or pickup at registration. A completed schedule and details are below.

Friday, Sept. 22

  • 10 a.m.-2 p.m.    Falls Prevention Awareness Day Walk – Tundra – Contact: Michael Rush, m-rush@onu.edu.
  • 1-4 p.m.    Print exhibition Home is Where the Art Is:  Prints by Marilyn McPheron and Judith Steele – Elzay Gallery - Contact: William Mancusco, w-mancuso@onu.edu.
  • 3-9 p.m.    Kappa Psi Reunion Reception – Dean’s Heritage Room, McIntosh Center – Contact: Mikayla Fisher, m-fisher@onu.edu. Meet and greet with current brothers and alumni brothers.
  • 6 p.m.    Athletic Hall of Fame Banquet – King Horn Sports Center – Contact: Tom Simmons, t-simmons@onu.edu. The 2017 Hall of Fame inductees will be featured in the Homecoming Parade and announced at the Ohio Northern football game against Otterbein. All Hall of Fame inductees also will have special seating at the game.
  • 9 -11 p.m.    Young Alumni Social with Reunion celebrations for the class of 2012 and 2007 – The Reagle Beagle – Contact: Ellie McManus, e-mcmanus@onu.edu. Join us at the Regal Beagel for a night to reminisce and reconnect with friends and classmates. A new annual tradition that brings together young alumni. Enjoy hors d'oeuvres, cash bar, and a lively evening of socializing. PLEASE NOTE: This event is 21+ only. IDs will be required at the door.

Saturday, Sept. 23

  • 8 a.m.-1:30 p.m.   Registration – King Horn Field House
  • 8-10 a.m.    Homecoming Health Fair sponsored by NCPA and ONU Healthwise – Pharmacy Building, Skills Center (RE 106) – Contact: Michelle Musser, m-musser@onu.edu.
  • 8 a.m.    Law Dean’s Homecoming Breakfast (included with CLE) –Hanson Reading Room, Taggart Law Library- Contact: Nicolle Merkel to register, lawalumni@onu.edu. To register for the Law Breakfast click HERE.
  • 8:30 a.m.    Homecoming LIVE on WONB-FM – Main Street, in front of the James F. Dicke College of Business Administration, Activities Tent and at the Football Game. WONB alumni are encouraged to stop by our Main Street and Activities Tent broadcasts to visit with each other and current staff members.
  • 8:30 -10 a.m.     Morning Coffee in the Department of Nursing – MT 124 – Contact: Kami Fox, k-fox.2@onu.edu. First homecoming alumni event to visit, catch up, and kick-start your day.
  • 8:30 -10 a.m.     Sweetheart Breakfast – Wishing Well, McIntosh Center – Nicole Neely at 419-787-1728.  Celebrating our love for ONU and our sweethearts! We will be having a Caricaturist drawing pictures of ONU happy couples! Cost: $15 per couple.
  • 9-9:30 a.m.    Dedication of the Baker Commons – Contact: Office of Advancement, 419-772-2035. Please join President Dan DiBiasio and Chris Burns-DiBiasio to honor ONU's 10th President and First Lady, Kendall Baker and Toby Baker, as we dedicate the Baker Commons. The dedication will take place on the Ohio Northern University campus, near Affinity Village, located along Polar Way Road and Loop Road. 
  • 9 a.m.    Kappa Kappa Psi ONUMB Alumni Band – Dial Roberson Stadium – Contact: Laura Ayers, l-ayers@onu.edu. The alumni members of the ONUMB march in the homecoming parade and at pregame and sit in the stands with us during the game.
  • 9 a.m.    Pettit College of Law PAD CLE– Celebrezze Large Moot courtroom 129 – Contact: Nicolle Merkel to register, lawalumni@onu.edu. To register for the PAD CLE click HERE. 
  • 9:30-10:15 a.m.    Dicke College of Business Administration Breakfast and building tours– James F. Dicke Hall – Contact: Sharon Rausch, s-rausch@onu.edu.   Mix and mingle with alumni, students, and faculty members, past and present!
  • 9:30-10:15 a.m.    Raabe College of Pharmacy Tours and Dean’s Update – Pharmacy Building, Alumni and Friends Entrance Plaza – Contact: Pam Tenwalde, 419-772-2275 or p-tenwalde@onu.edu.   
  • 9:30-10:15 a.m.    T.J. Smull College of Engineering Dean’s Update followed by building tours – Biggs Engineering Building – Contact: Laurie Laird, 419-772-2421 or l-laird@onu.edu.  Come to the main entrance of the Biggs Engineering Building to receive a tour of the college from a current student and find out what's changed!
  • 9:30 a.m.    Softball Alumni Game, Celebrating 50 years of Polar Bear softball – ONU Softball Field – Contact: Jackie Mangola, j-mangola@onu.edu. Dust off your cleats and hit the field for the ONU Softball Alumni game! A potluck lunch will follow the game at the field. Please RSVP to Jackie by Sept. 15.
  • 9:30 a.m.    Alumni Cheerleaders – Parade Starting Line – Contact: Jami Dellifield, jamizumba@gmail.com.  Join current cheerleaders to walk in the Homecoming Parade.
  • 10 a.m.    Sigma Phi Epsilon Homecoming Meeting – Sigma Phi Epsilon Fraternity House – Contact: Luke Franks, l-franks.1@onu.edu. We will be leaving the house open for the day for alumni to come and visit and an alumni board meeting in formal room at 10 a.m.
  • 10:30 a.m.    Homecoming Parade – Main Street, Village of Ada - Grand Marshal, Emily Richards, senior chemistry major and five-time NCAA DIII track and field champion and United States finalist in the 800-meter run, will lead the parade accompanied by ONU track and field coach, Jason Maus. 
  • 11 a.m.    Delta Sigma Phi Bowling Tournament – Norada Lanes – Contact: Adam Gearhart, a-gearhart@onu.edu.
  • 11 a.m.    Snacks @Heterick Library – Heterick Memorial Library – Contact: Kathleen Baril, k-baril@onu.edu. Pick up some snacks for the game and check out the first floor renovation.
  • 11 a.m.-1 p.m.   Alumni Oral History – Hill Memorial 114 – Contact: Russ Crawford, r-crawford.2@onu.edu. Students taking HIST 2071, Digital History, will be conducting oral history interviews of alumni who are interested in participating.
  • 11:30 a.m.-2 p.m.   Activities Tent - Located on the Tundra between King Horn and Biggs. Visit with various campus organizations, colleges, academic departments and offices. Get your ONU giveaways here!
  • 11:30 a.m.-2 p.m.   Inflatable Activities – Tundra, near King Horn Field House. Enjoy face painting, caricatures and     fun inflatable activities!
  • 11:30 a.m.    All-Alumni Meeting (immediately following the parade) –King Horn Field House – Contact: Alumni Relations, alumni@onu.edu. Hear what’s new at ONU, meet the Alumni Board members and congratulate Alumni Club Award Winners!
  • 11:45 a.m.     Reunion Photos (immediately following All-Alumni Meeting) –King Horn Field House – Contact: Alumni Relations, alumni@onu.edu. Each reunion class will be called starting with the earliest year (1967) beginning at 11:45 a.m. Enjoy lunch and listen to the announcements so you don’t miss your class photo!
  • 11:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m.     Tailgate Lunch – King Horn Field House – Contact: Alumni Relations, alumni@onu.edu
  • 11:30 a.m.    Zeta Tau Alpha Luncheon and Open House – Zeta Tau Alpha House – Contact: Stephanie Walton, s-walton.2@onu.edu.  Sisters and alumni of Zeta Tau Alpha gather at the house after the parade to talk and enjoy a meal together.
  • 11:30 a.m.     Delta Zeta Alumnae Luncheon – DZ House – Contact: Jessica Robinson, j-robinson.2@onu.edu.  Alumnae Homecoming Luncheon for all past DZ members!
  • Noon    Alpha Xi Delta Alumni Brunch – Alpha Xi Delta House – Contact: Julia Pinciotti, j-pinciotti@onu.edu. We welcome alumni of the Gamma Tau Chapter to come celebrate homecoming with brunch and to meet current chapter members.
  • Noon    Alumni Cheerleaders – Dial Roberson Stadium End Zone – Contact: Jami Dellifield, jamizumba@gmail.com. Warm up and cheer alongside the team during the first quarter of the game!
  • 1 p.m.    Pre-Game Festivities: Introduction of the 2017 William L. Robinson Young Alumni Award recipients, Stephanie Crandall, BA ’03 and Justin Schultz, BSEE ‘03 and the 2017 Hall of Fame Awardees, with special recognition of the 50th Anniversary of the ONU Softball program – Dial-Roberson Stadium.
  • 1:30 p.m.    ONU Football Game vs. Otterbein – Dial-Roberson Stadium – Homecoming King and Queen Coronation Ceremony at halftime.
  • 1-4 p.m.    Print exhibition Home is Where the Art Is:  Prints by Marilyn McPheron and Judith Steele – Elzay Gallery - Contact: William Mancusco, w-mancuso@onu.edu.
  • 4-7 p.m.    1967, 1972, 1977, and 1982 Class Reunion Receptions (50, 45, 40, 35) - The Inn at Ohio Northern University, Rooms 1 & 2 – Contact: Alumni Relations, alumni@onu.edu. Celebrate your reunion with fellow classmates. Cost per person is $5.00.
  • 4-7 p.m.    1987, 1992, 1997, and 2002 Class Reunion Receptions (30, 25, 20, 15) - The Inn at Ohio Northern University, Rooms 3 & 4 – Contact: Alumni Relations, alumni@onu.edu. Celebrate your reunion with fellow classmates. Cost per person is $5.00.
  • 4-5:30 p.m.    Dip Party with Alumnae - Kappa Alpha Theta Affinity House – Contact: Rachael Griffith, r-griffith@onu.edu. The sisters of Kappa Alpha Theta invite alumnae and guests to stop by for various chips, dips, and mingling.
  • 4 p.m.    Phi Rho's Sweet Sixteen – Science Annex 105 & Courtyard – Contact: Rachel Sauder, r-sauder@onu.edu. Dessert reception to celebrate Phi Sigma Rho's sixteenth year at ONU!
  • 4 p.m.    Alpha Sigma Phi Alumni Reunion – TBD – Contact: Rod Thompson, astro21@zoominternet.net.  
  • 4 - 6 p.m.   Sigma Pi Alumni Meeting and Reception for Colony Members - McIntosh Center, Bear Cave - Contact: Karl May, kmay@khwlaw.com - Board of Trustee election, Alumni Association report, Colony report, Q&A and discussion of scholarship fund plans. Meet and greet Colony members.
  • 5 p.m.    Delta Sigma Phi ABC Meeting and Bond Eternal Ritual – Delta Sigma Phi Chapter House - Contact: Adam Gearhart, a-gearhart@onu.edu.
  • 5:30 p.m.    Phi Mu Delta Alumni Dinner – Affinity Northwest – Contact: Connor Rowan, c-rowan@onu.edu.
  • 5 p.m.    Theta Chi Alumni Dinner – Affinity Commons – Contact: DJ Schroeder, d-schroeder.4@onu.edu.  
  • 5-7:30 p.m.    Kappa Psi Reunion Dinner – Viva Maria’s – Contact: Kenneth Barga, k-barga.3@onu.edu. The brothers of Kappa Psi Pharmaceutical Fraternity would love to invite their Kappa Psi alumni brothers to join them on Saturday evening for dinner after all of the Homecoming festivities. There will be great food, raffle prizes, and lots of fun!
  • 6 p.m.    Delta Sigma Phi Alumni Dinner – Delta Sigma Phi Chapter House - Contact: Adam Gearhart, a-gearhart@onu.edu.
  • 7 p.m.    Men’s Soccer vs. Otterbein – Kercher Stadium
  • 7:30 p.m.    Freed Center Performance - Catapult and the ONU Dance Company. The Amazing Magic of Shadow Dance. – Contact: Freed Center, freed-center@onu.edu. An America’s Got Talent finalist from Season 8, Catapult is a features incredible dancers who work behind a screen to create magical shadow silhouettes of shapes from the world around us.  Be amazed as you watch their bodies transform into a mountain, an elephant, a dragon, even a helicopter!  You’ll never figure out how they do it, and you won’t know what they will create next – you’ll be surprised and delighted again and again.  Packed with hundreds of shape transformation, the show is full of humor, emotion and engaging stories.


Sunday, Sept. 24

  • 10 a.m.    Scholarship Brunch – Ballroom, McIntosh Center – Ellie McManus, e-mcmanus@onu.edu. Invitation only. We look forward to you joining us as we celebrate scholarship donors and scholarship recipients! Helping connect alumni back to the mission and the impact of their financial support. Invite only.
  • 2 p.m.     Homecoming Concert – Snyder Hall, Presser Music Building - Contact: Christopher Larsen, c-larsen@onu.edu. Homecoming Choral Collage Concert features all four of the University's choral ensembles. Music will be offered from the University Singers, Chamber Singers, Men's Chorus, and Women's Chorus. The event is free and open to the public.